shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use RIA in a Box?

Compliance and registration software for financial advisors (RIAs); rebranded Comply after the ComplySci merger. - riainabox.com

Depends. Buy if you are launching or running a US registered investment advisory firm and want registration, compliance, and cybersecurity outsourced. Skip if you are not an RIA or want transparent, self-serve pricing.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; review depth is thin (1 Trustpilot review, no named client firms).

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityConsulting offered; quality unverified publicly
  • Security posture

Pricing

From $195 (2016 figure)

MyRIACompliance

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • New RIAs registering with SEC or states
  • Solo and small advisory firms outsourcing compliance
  • Firms wanting compliance plus cybersecurity bundled
  • Advisors dreading annual compliance reviews

Not for

  • Anyone who isn't a US registered investment advisor
  • Large firms with in-house compliance departments
  • Buyers demanding transparent self-serve pricing
  • Non-US financial firms

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Pricing is quote-based; the published figure is from 2016

medium

Setup reportedly costs ~$3k on top of ongoing software fees

medium

Merger and rebrand to Comply may cause contract or support confusion

medium

Almost no public reviews make vetting support quality hard

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Handles RIA registration, compliance program, and annual review in one platform
  • Bundles communications archiving and cybersecurity, not just checklists
  • Trusted by 4,000+ advisors for registration and compliance
  • G2 users report no downsides
  • Backed by ComplySci/COMPLY since the 2021 merger

Cons

  • Just 1 Trustpilot review — public feedback is nearly nonexistent
  • No published pricing; requires a sales request
  • $195 starting price is a 2016 figure, likely outdated
  • Rebranded to Comply; older material may not match current product

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x5security x1news x4

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • From $195 (2016 figure)

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Reddit says worth $3k; pricing opaque
  • Ease of use: 4/5. G2 users report no downsides
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Registration, compliance, archiving, cybersecurity bundled
  • Support quality. Consulting offered; quality unverified publicly
  • Security posture: 4/5. Own cybersecurity platform, insurance, public security page
  • $195 Starting price MyRIACompliance, 2016 press release
  • 4,000+ Advisors served Registration & compliance clients
  • $9M ARR Revenue 2018, GetLatka
  • 1 Trustpilot reviews Very thin public feedback

Pricing

MyRIACompliance

From $195 (2016 figure)

  • RIA compliance program management
  • Annual review tooling
  • Current pricing unpublished; quote-based

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

feedback is sparse but positive; G2 and Reddit users report value for RIA setup and ongoing compliance.

“I have found no downside to using RIAinaBox at”
G2 review of Comply (RIAInABox)
“It might just be worth paying the $3k to RIAinaBo…”
Reddit, r/FinancialPlanning
“We used RIAinabox (now called Comply). We pay for o…”
Reddit, r/CFP

Alternatives

Compare RIA in a Box with each alternative.

  • XY Planning Network

    Membership network that also handles RIA setup and compliance

  • VComply

    Broader compliance workflow tool for regulated teams

  • BasisCode

    Compliance software rival cited by industry trackers

    RIA in a Box vs BasisCode
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; review depth is thin (1 Trustpilot review, no named client firms).

Strong fit for US RIA firms wanting outsourced compliance; useless for everyone else, pricing opaque.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; review depth is thin (1 Trustpilot review, no named client firms).

Sources

  1. news
  2. official
  3. news
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. security
  10. news
  11. news
  12. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.