shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Ricoh?

(none) - ricoh.co.uk

Depends. Buy if you're procuring enterprise print, scanner, or managed-print fleets, or you specifically want the cult-favourite GR camera; both hold up in reviews. Skip if you want transparent pricing, a simple consumer device, or a vendor with a clean security record.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~45 public sources; they span Ricoh's office-print business and its GR camera line, so fit depends on which Ricoh you mean.

Ratings

  • Value for moneyNo public pricing to judge
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

~$550 (original GR, 2018)

Ricoh GR compact cameras

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Copiers / MFPsQuote-based via dealers
Managed Print ServicesEnterprise contract

Best for

  • Offices standardising MFP fleets via managed print
  • Enterprises wanting scanners and services from one vendor
  • Street photographers wanting a pocketable APS-C compact

Not for

  • Home users wanting one cheap printer - consumer brands undercut Ricoh
  • Small teams without IT staff - managed-print contracts are overkill
  • Buyers needing published prices - nearly everything is quote-only
  • Security-sensitive orgs unwilling to patch printer firmware aggressively

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Printer driver privilege escalation (CVE-2026-50100) also hits Konica Minolta; patch fast

high

Streamline NX path traversal (CVE-2025-36506) allows unauthorised file access; restrict access

medium

Copier prices set by dealers; total cost includes service contracts - negotiate hard

medium

MFP open-redirect and SSH flaws make network isolation of printers essential

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Case studies across banks, schools, and government agencies
  • GR compacts command a cult following for image quality
  • Publishes advisories and a dedicated vulnerability information centre
  • Broad one-stop portfolio: printers, scanners, managed services, cameras
  • Positive reliability reports in sysadmin communities

Cons

  • Recent CVEs across printer drivers, Streamline NX, Web Image Monitor
  • Breach disclosure ties Ricoh services to customer data exposure
  • Quote-based pricing; no published costs for copiers or services
  • Mixed support reports; forum print-quality issues unresolved
  • Fixed-lens GR models cost ~$550 for one focal length

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/25/2026 - 12 sources - Active vulnerability stream: 2024-2026 CVEs across printer drivers, MFPs, and Streamline NX, plus a disclosed data breach.

official x2review x5security x3news x2
  • CVE-2025-36506 - Streamline NX path traversal, Path traversal flaw in Ricoh Streamline NX allows unauthorised file access.
  • CVE-2026-50100 - Printer driver privilege escalation, Local privilege escalation flaw in Ricoh and Konica Minolta printer drivers.
  • CVE-2026-21409 - Improper authorization, Improper authorization vulnerability exists in RICOH software.
  • Open redirect in Web Image Monitor, Ricoh Europe advisory covering open redirect flaw in specific MFPs and printers.
  • Data breach affecting Arkansas Total Care, Breach notification tied to Ricoh; incident dated July 2 per client notice.

Key stats

  • Ease of use: 4/5

    Rating

  • ~$550 (original GR, 2018)

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money. No public pricing to judge
  • Ease of use: 4/5. GR ergonomics praised across reviews
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Portfolio spans print, scan, services, cameras
  • Support quality: 3/5. Mixed: forum print-quality complaints vs sysadmin praise
  • Security posture: 2/5. Multiple 2024-2026 CVEs plus breach disclosure
  • 71 Gartner reviews Managed Print Services ratings
  • ~$550 GR camera street price Original GR, as of July 2018 review
  • 6+ Disclosed security issues CVEs, advisories and a breach in reviewed sources

Pricing

Ricoh GR compact cameras

~$550 (original GR, 2018)

  • Fixed-lens APS-C
  • Cult street-photography following

Copiers / MFPs

Quote-based via dealers

  • Price varies by dealer
  • Service agreements add cost

Managed Print Services

Enterprise contract

  • Custom quotes via sales
  • 71 Gartner reviews

Security

Active vulnerability stream: 2024-2026 CVEs across printer drivers, MFPs, and Streamline NX, plus a disclosed data breach.

  • CVE-2025-36506 - Streamline NX path traversalPath traversal flaw in Ricoh Streamline NX allows unauthorised file access.⁹
  • CVE-2026-50100 - Printer driver privilege escalationLocal privilege escalation flaw in Ricoh and Konica Minolta printer drivers.⁸
  • CVE-2026-21409 - Improper authorizationImproper authorization vulnerability exists in RICOH software.
  • Open redirect in Web Image MonitorRicoh Europe advisory covering open redirect flaw in specific MFPs and printers.10
  • Data breach affecting Arkansas Total CareBreach notification tied to Ricoh; incident dated July 2 per client notice.⁷

What users say

GR cameras draw near-cult praise from reviewers and Reddit, while print-fleet buyers show mixed support experiences and dealer-negotiated pricing.

Alternatives

Compare Ricoh with each alternative.

Companies that use it

  • Mizuho Bank12
  • CPI Print11
  • Olathe Public School District
  • State of Washington Department of Ecology
  • Cards Unlimited
Full analysis

Based on ~45 public sources; they span Ricoh's office-print business and its GR camera line, so fit depends on which Ricoh you mean.

Office-print giant plus cult GR cameras: solid enterprise fit, opaque quote-only pricing, steady stream of printer CVEs.

Methodology

Based on ~45 public sources; they span Ricoh's office-print business and its GR camera line, so fit depends on which Ricoh you mean.

Sources

  1. review
  2. Gear Review: Ricoh GR: A 2018 Reviewtrunghoangphotography.com
    review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. Ricoh Data Breacharkansastotalcare.com
    news
  8. security
  9. security
  10. security
  11. official
  12. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.