shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Rite Aid?

Text us 863-270-9911 - riteaid.com

Skip. Nobody should buy here — Rite Aid closed its final stores in October 2025 after two bankruptcies and full liquidation. Former pharmacy customers' files were sold to CVS and Walgreens; use one of those instead.

Confidence

High. Based on 45+ public sources. Rite Aid is a retail pharmacy chain, not software — and it has fully liquidated.

Ratings

  • Value for moneyNo comparable pricing evidence available
  • Ease of useNo usable evidence
  • Feature depthNot a software product
  • Support qualityAnecdotal complaints only; chain now closed
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

Not disclosed

Not for

  • Anyone needing prescriptions filled — every store is closed
  • Privacy-sensitive patients — 2.2M-record breach and FTC facial-recognition ban
  • Job seekers or investors — $4B debt and full liquidation
  • Shoppers expecting rewards, returns, or customer support post-closure

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Website and app still look live; stores are closed — don't rely on them for prescriptions

high

Breach victims received Kroll notification letters; monitor credit and health records

medium

$6.8M class settlement from breach — check whether you have a claim

medium

Guess: gift cards and rewards points are likely worthless after liquidation

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Prescription files were sold to CVS, Walgreens, and others — refills are transferable
  • Some employee reviews describe a genuinely supportive workplace
  • Former customers still express real loyalty to the brand

Cons

  • All remaining stores closed October 2025 after 63 years in business
  • Filed Chapter 11 twice (2023, 2025), ending in full liquidation
  • RansomHub ransomware attack exposed over 2.2M customers' data
  • FTC imposed five-year ban on facial recognition after biased deployments
  • Pharmacy assets fire-sold to CVS and Walgreens in bankruptcy court

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/06/2026 - 8 sources - Poor record: RansomHub ransomware, a 2.2M-record breach investigation, and an FTC facial-recognition ban.

review x2security x2news x4
  • RansomHub ransomware attack (2024), Vendor-partner vulnerability enabled the attack; Florida patients' data was posted on the dark web.
  • 2.2M-record breach investigation, State AG notification letters issued, exposure including card numbers.
  • FTC facial recognition ban, Five-year ban after deploying facial recognition in hundreds of stores; related $6.8M settlement.

Key stats

  • Security posture: 1/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 8

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money. No comparable pricing evidence available
  • Ease of use. No usable evidence
  • Feature depth. Not a software product
  • Support quality. Anecdotal complaints only; chain now closed
  • Security posture: 1/5. RansomHub breach; FTC banned facial recognition
  • Closed Chain status Last stores shut Oct 2025, after 63 years
  • 2 Chapter 11 filings 2023 and 2025
  • 2.2M+ Breach exposure Records under investigation, 2024
  • 618 Employee reviews Pharmacy technicians on Indeed

Pricing

Not disclosed

Security

Poor record: RansomHub ransomware, a 2.2M-record breach investigation, and an FTC facial-recognition ban.

  • RansomHub ransomware attack (2024)Vendor-partner vulnerability enabled the attack; Florida patients' data was posted on the dark web.
  • 2.2M-record breach investigationState AG notification letters issued, exposure including card numbers.
  • FTC facial recognition banFive-year ban after deploying facial recognition in hundreds of stores; related $6.8M settlement.

What users say

Sentiment is nostalgic and mixed: loyal customers miss it, employee reviews are split, service complaints exist — and the chain is now gone.

“I Still Miss Rite Aid”
Reddit, r/RiteAid
“The Rite Aid on 36th St is the worst!”
Reddit, r/Bellingham
“Great place to work”
Indeed employee review

Alternatives

Compare Rite Aid with each alternative.

  • CVS Pharmacy

    Bought many Rite Aid pharmacy files; your refills may already be there

  • Walgreens

    Major buyer of former Rite Aid stores and prescription records

  • Walmart Pharmacy

    Publishes transparent drug price lists; wide store coverage

Full analysis

Based on 45+ public sources. Rite Aid is a retail pharmacy chain, not software — and it has fully liquidated.

Rite Aid is gone: two bankruptcies, full liquidation, all stores closed Oct 2025. Move prescriptions to CVS or Walgreens.

Methodology

Based on 45+ public sources. Rite Aid is a retail pharmacy chain, not software — and it has fully liquidated.

Sources

  1. news
  2. news
  3. news
  4. security
  5. security
  6. review
  7. review
  8. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.