shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Rossmann Group?

Data recovery and MacBook logic-board repair lab, Austin, TX - rossmanngroup.com

Depends. Use Rossmann Group if a dead drive, NAS, or ransomware-hit disk holds data you cannot replace and DIY tools failed. Skip it for anything backed up, cheaply replaceable, or recoverable with free software.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14+ public sources: Trustpilot, Yelp, Reddit, forums, and the company's own pages. No clean verbatim user quotes were extractable from snippets, so quotes are omitted.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usability evidence reviewed
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo direct support evidence reviewed
  • Security posture

Pricing

From $100

Hard drive data recovery

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Dead drives with irreplaceable data
  • Ransomware-encrypted disks
  • Failed NAS/RAID (QNAP, WD)
  • MacBook logic-board failures

Not for

  • Anything backed up — just restore it
  • Drives worth less than the $100+ minimum
  • Deleted-file jobs free software can handle
  • Anyone unwilling to mail hardware to Austin, TX

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Guess: $100 is entry tier only; severe damage likely lands in higher of 5 tiers

medium

Trustpilot 2.8 vs self-reported 4.9 — read both before trusting either number

low

You are mailing raw drives; use tracked shipping and get the NDA signed first

low

Free diagnostics not confirmed in sources; ask about fees before shipping anything

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Published pricing from $100 across five tiers; dedicated hidden-fees FAQ
  • Publishes real recovery case studies with video evidence
  • Signs standard customer NDAs; tracked, in-house mail-in process
  • Founder is a public right-to-repair advocate with long track record
  • Free public forums with board-repair advice from technicians

Cons

  • Trustpilot shows 2.8/5 while its own site claims 4.9/5
  • Requires physically shipping failed drives; not a software fix
  • Founder's online controversies make review signals noisy to interpret

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/01/2026 - 9 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x5review x3news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • From $100

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Published pricing from $100; openly anti-hidden-fees
  • Ease of use. No usability evidence reviewed
  • Feature depth: 5/5. HDD, SSD, NAS, ransomware, microSD chip-off covered
  • Support quality. No direct support evidence reviewed
  • Security posture: 4/5. Signs customer NDAs; in-house lab
  • 2.8/5 Trustpilot rating Rated 'Average' on Trustpilot
  • 4.9/5 Self-reported rating Claims on its own reviews page
  • $100 Starting price Hard drive recovery, 5 tiers
  • Austin, TX Lab location Relocated from New York

Pricing

Hard drive data recovery

From $100

  • 5 published tiers
  • Hidden-fee FAQ on site

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Review signal is split: the company's own page claims 4.9/5 while Trustpilot averages 2.8/5.

Alternatives

Compare Rossmann Group with each alternative.

  • PhotoRec

    Free open-source recovery; try this before paying any lab.

  • Recuva

    Simple Windows undelete for files removed by accident.

  • DriveSavers

    Enterprise-grade lab rival with 24/7 emergency service.

Full analysis

Based on 14+ public sources: Trustpilot, Yelp, Reddit, forums, and the company's own pages. No clean verbatim user quotes were extractable from snippets, so quotes are omitted.

Legit specialist data-recovery lab from $100; only worth it for data you truly can't replace.

Methodology

Based on 14+ public sources: Trustpilot, Yelp, Reddit, forums, and the company's own pages. No clean verbatim user quotes were extractable from snippets, so quotes are omitted.

Sources

  1. review
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. official
  6. official
  7. review
  8. news
  9. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.