shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Rupress (Rockefeller University Press)?

Skip to Main Content - rupress.org

Depends. This is Rockefeller University Press, a nonprofit publisher of peer-reviewed biology journals — not a software tool. Consider it only as a research author or a library licensing journals; if you pasted this URL shopping for team software, look elsewhere.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~30 public sources; no independent product reviews found — this is an academic journal publisher, not SaaS.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo evidence
  • Feature depthNo evidence
  • Support qualityNo evidence
  • Security postureNo security findings or posture evidence

Pricing

Institutional journal subscription

Tiered by access level (2027 guide)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Career Center job postingFrom $249
Article publication (APC)Varies by journal

Best for

  • Cell biology researchers choosing a journal
  • Institutional libraries licensing journals
  • Life-science employers hiring scientists

Not for

  • Anyone shopping for software
  • Businesses wanting CRM, analytics, or dev tools
  • Authors outside cell biology and physiology
  • Teams needing trials, APIs, or integrations

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

2027 tiered institutional pricing — verify which tier your library lands in before budgeting

medium

Publication fees and licensing options vary; check before submitting a manuscript

low

Career Center postings start at $249 each; recurring hiring costs add up

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Long-running peer-reviewed journals: JEM, JCB, JGP, plus newer Journal of Human Immunity
  • Publishes transparent, tiered institutional pricing for libraries
  • Deposits authors' publications into funding repositories like PMC
  • Open access options with transformative-journal commitments
  • Dedicated science career center; job postings from $249

Cons

  • Not software: nothing to trial, deploy, or integrate
  • Individual and lab-level pricing unclear; pages target libraries
  • No dedicated security page found in sources reviewed
  • Narrow scope: cell biology, physiology, immunology research only

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/01/2026 - 11 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x8review x2security x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Tiered by access level (2027 guide)

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Transparent tiered library pricing; author fees unclear
  • Ease of use. No evidence
  • Feature depth. No evidence
  • Support quality. No evidence
  • Security posture. No security findings or posture evidence
  • 4 Peer-reviewed journals JEM, JCB, JGP, Journal of Human Immunity
  • From $249 Job posting price RUP Career Center
  • Tiered Institutional pricing 2027 library subscription guide published

Pricing

Institutional journal subscription

Tiered by access level (2027 guide)

  • Varies by library type
  • Transparent pricing page published

Career Center job posting

From $249

  • Employer job listings
  • Resume search

Article publication (APC)

Varies by journal

  • Fees and licensing options page
  • Repository deposit included

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

No independent product reviews found; sources are journal content, publisher pages, and Reddit threads sharing RUP research.

Alternatives

Compare Rupress (Rockefeller University Press) with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on ~30 public sources; no independent product reviews found — this is an academic journal publisher, not SaaS.

Not software — it's Rockefeller University Press, publisher of JEM/JCB/JGP journals. Relevant only to authors and libraries.

Methodology

Based on ~30 public sources; no independent product reviews found — this is an academic journal publisher, not SaaS.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. official
  6. official
  7. official
  8. official
  9. security
  10. review
  11. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.