shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Samsclub?

Wholesale Prices on Top Brands - samsclub.com

Depends. Worth it if you shop in bulk weekly or fuel up often — the fee pays for itself. Skip it if you're a small household or occasional shopper; bulk sizes go to waste and you'll never recoup the membership.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~45 public sources: official pricing, Reddit and community reviews, complaint boards, and security reporting. Note: this is a retail membership club, not software.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$120/year

Plus

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
ClubNot confirmed in sources

Best for

  • Families stocking up in bulk
  • Small businesses buying supplies
  • Frequent drivers wanting cheap gas
  • Plus members who ship often

Not for

  • Small households — bulk sizes spoil before you use them
  • Occasional shoppers who won't recoup the annual fee
  • Delivery-reliant shoppers — complaints are loud
  • Happy Costco members see little reason to switch

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Advertised $120 is the Plus tier; a cheaper base Club tier exists — confirm before joining.

medium

Perishable delivery risk: members report items arriving past 'used by' dates.

low

ComplaintsBoard hosts an active 2026 complaint thread — check local club reviews first.

low

Third-party review site warns 'Be careful in dealing' with at least one club location.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Wholesale prices on top brands across groceries and general merchandise
  • Plus tier includes free shipping and fuel savings
  • Same-day delivery available via Instacart partnership
  • Extras beyond retail: pharmacy, tires, gas, FSA/HSA shop

Cons

  • Membership fee required before you can buy anything
  • Delivery complaints: spoiled items and missed expectations reported
  • Reddit sentiment can run 'overwhelmingly negative' on service
  • Members publicly debate whether membership is still worth it
  • Active BBB complaint record spanning many pages

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/06/2026 - 13 sources - Reported incidents — no confirmed breach in sources reviewed.

official x3review x7security x2news x1
  • Clop ransomware breach claims, Sam's Club investigated Clop ransomware breach claims tied to a CVE in March 2025; unconfirmed at time of reporting.
  • Credential stuffing report (2020), 2020 reporting suggested credential stuffing was behind an account breach.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $120/year

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Reddit worth-it debates; pays off only if frequent
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Scan and Go helps in-store; delivery complaints persist
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Groceries plus gas, pharmacy, tires, same-day delivery
  • Support quality: 2/5. BBB complaints and manager-error stories
  • Security posture: 2/5. Ransomware claims probed; 2020 credential-stuffing report
  • $120/year Plus membership Advertised top tier
  • None Free tier Paid membership required to shop
  • 1983 Founded Walmart-owned warehouse chain

Pricing

Plus

$120/year

  • Free shipping
  • Fuel savings
  • Pharmacy discounts (RxSav)

Club

Not confirmed in sources

  • Base tier
  • Store and online access

Security

Reported incidents — no confirmed breach in sources reviewed.

  • Clop ransomware breach claimsSam's Club investigated Clop ransomware breach claims tied to a CVE in March 2025; unconfirmed at time of reporting.⁹
  • Credential stuffing report (2020)2020 reporting suggested credential stuffing was behind an account breach.10

Alternatives

Compare Samsclub with each alternative.

  • Local grocery or discount stores

    Better for small baskets with no annual fee.

Full analysis

Based on ~45 public sources: official pricing, Reddit and community reviews, complaint boards, and security reporting. Note: this is a retail membership club, not software.

Warehouse club with real bulk savings — only pays off if you shop often. Small households and delivery users: skip.

Methodology

Based on ~45 public sources: official pricing, Reddit and community reviews, complaint boards, and security reporting. Note: this is a retail membership club, not software.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. security
  10. security
  11. news
  12. review
  13. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.