shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use SANS Institute?

Cybersecurity training, certifications and research; 60+ courses, 40,000+ professionals trained annually. - sans.org

Depends. Buy if your employer pays and you need elite GIAC-recognized training. Skip if self-funding or early-career — cheaper certs and degrees reach similar outcomes.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 24 public sources; many snippets truncated, so verbatim quotes unavailable.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usable evidence in sources
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityOnly employee reviews found, not customer support
  • Security posture

Pricing

Courses / GIAC certs / degrees

Not disclosed in reviewed sources

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Employer-funded security professionals
  • Teams pursuing GIAC certifications
  • Career-changers needing deep, structured training
  • Orgs building security awareness programs

Not for

  • Hobbyists and students paying out of pocket
  • Early-career folks — Reddit consensus: cheaper certs suffice
  • Anyone wanting quick, cheap awareness training only
  • Buyers expecting a software product — this is training

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Priced for corporate training budgets; self-funders report sticker shock and hikes

medium

Scholarship application fees may not be refunded even if not considered

medium

Best value assumes employer sponsorship; hard to justify solo

medium

GIAC certification pricing is separate from course tuition — budget both

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Called the gold standard for security training by third-party reviewers
  • 60+ courses; trains 40,000+ professionals annually
  • Strong G2 footprint: 90 product reviews, seller rated 4+
  • Respected research output (Top 25 software errors, reports)
  • Scholarships and funding programs, including Cyber Academy

Cons

  • Expensive; users report price increases
  • $537 scholarship application fee charged without consideration, per one applicant
  • Often unnecessary early in career, per student consensus
  • Suffered its own phishing-driven data breach in 2020
  • BBB complaints on file

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 12 sources - Trusted authority overall, but SANS itself suffered a phishing-driven data breach in August 2020.

official x4review x7security x1
  • 2020 phishing data breach, A phishing attack on SANS Institute led to a data breach; widely covered by security press.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Repeatedly called expensive; best when employer-funded
  • Ease of use. No usable evidence in sources
  • Feature depth: 5/5. 60+ courses, 40k trainees, deep research library
  • Support quality. Only employee reviews found, not customer support
  • Security posture: 3/5. Suffered its own 2020 phishing data breach
  • 40,000+ Annual trainees per SANS official tagline
  • 60+ Courses offered across all practice areas
  • 1989 Founded Wikipedia / company profiles
  • 90 G2 reviews across SANS product listings

Pricing

Courses / GIAC certs / degrees

Not disclosed

  • Per-course tuition
  • Separate GIAC exam fees
  • Scholarships and payment plans available

Security

Trusted authority overall, but SANS itself suffered a phishing-driven data breach in August 2020.

  • 2020 phishing data breachA phishing attack on SANS Institute led to a data breach; widely covered by security press.⁹

What users say

Community consensus: excellent depth and reputation, but widely judged too expensive unless an employer pays.

Full analysis

Based on 24 public sources; many snippets truncated, so verbatim quotes unavailable.

Elite but pricey cybersecurity training. Worth it on an employer's dime; hard to justify self-funded early-career.

Methodology

Based on 24 public sources; many snippets truncated, so verbatim quotes unavailable.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. security
  10. official
  11. review
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.