shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Scanopy?

Automated network diagrams & documentation that update themselves - scanopy.net

Worth it. Buy if you run a homelab or small business network and hate keeping diagrams current — the free self-hosted Community Edition makes trialing it nearly risk-free. Skip it if you need live monitoring, alerting, or vendor SLAs; it's young, pre-1.0 software.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; review coverage is thin and skews toward homelab/self-hosted communities.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Community Edition

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Starter$11.90/mo

Best for

  • Homelabbers and self-hosters
  • Small IT teams with stale network docs
  • Anyone replacing manual Visio/draw.io diagram upkeep

Not for

  • Enterprises needing live monitoring and alerting — this documents, it doesn't watch
  • Buyers wanting mature v1.0+ software with vendor SLAs
  • Non-technical teams uncomfortable with Docker or self-hosting
  • Tiny static networks — a spreadsheet of IPs already covers it

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Pre-1.0: expect breaking changes and missing features as it matures fast

medium

Support is community/GitHub-based; no evidence of SLAs or guaranteed response times

low

AGPL 3.0 license — check implications before modifying or embedding commercially

low

Feature split between hosted Starter and free Community Edition isn't clearly documented in sources

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Auto-discovers networks via SNMP, LLDP, ARP — diagrams build themselves
  • Free self-hosted Community Edition
  • Flat-rate pricing regardless of host count
  • Detects 260+ services automatically
  • Actively developed; frequent updates and engaged maintainer

Cons

  • Pre-1.0 and recently launched; expect rough edges
  • Diagramming and docs only — not live monitoring or alerting
  • Thin third-party review base; G2/Capterra profiles still new
  • Docker deployment trips users up (bridge networking issues)
  • Solo-developer project; bus-factor and support-depth risk

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 14 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x9security x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Flat rate regardless of host count; free self-hosted tier
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Auto-discovery replaces manual drawing; Docker setup has friction
  • Feature depth: 4/5. SNMP/LLDP/ARP discovery, 260+ services, four topology views, Prometheus metrics
  • Support quality: 3/5. Responsive solo developer; no SLA evidence
  • Security posture: 3/5. Disclosure policy exists; open source; no audit evidence
  • $11.90/mo Starting price Starter plan, flat-rate
  • Yes Free tier Self-hosted Community Edition
  • 260+ Services detected Automatic service fingerprinting
  • v0.17.x Maturity Pre-1.0, recently launched

Pricing

Community Edition

Free

  • Self-hosted deployment
  • Network discovery and diagramming

Starter

$11.90/mo

  • Entry hosted plan
  • Flat-rate billing

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Early community response is positive and the maintainer is highly engaged, though users flag that the product is young.

“Scanopy is a great tool.”
VirtualizationHowto, Dec 2025
“Scanopy launched relatively recently”
GitHub discussion #360

Alternatives

Compare Scanopy with each alternative.

  • Auvik

    Cloud network monitoring with mapping; stronger ops features, higher price

    Scanopy vs Auvik
  • SolarWinds Observability

    Enterprise observability heavyweight; overkill for pure documentation needs

  • NetBrain

    Network automation and mapping aimed at larger enterprise estates

    Scanopy vs NetBrain
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; review coverage is thin and skews toward homelab/self-hosted communities.

Free self-hosted auto-diagrams for homelabs and small IT teams; pre-1.0 and not an Auvik-style monitor.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; review coverage is thin and skews toward homelab/self-hosted communities.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. security
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. review
  12. review
  13. review
  14. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.