shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Schoology Review

Depends

Should I use Schoology?

PowerSchool's K-12 learning management system - schoology.com

· 1 month ago

Schoology fits K-12 districts already tied into PowerSchool and needing SIS-integrated LMS at scale. Individual teachers, tutors, and small schools should use the free Basic tier or pick Google Classroom or Canvas instead.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~40 public sources; many review snippets were truncated, lowering confidence.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo clear directional evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Basic

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Enterprise (Schoology Learning)Quote-based, ~$7/student/year reported

Best for

  • K-12 districts on PowerSchool SIS
  • Large districts needing scale
  • Schools wanting a free teacher tier
  • SIS-integrated gradebook workflows

Not for

  • Individual tutors or solo teachers
  • Universities and higher ed
  • Corporate training teams
  • Small schools without dedicated IT staff

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

SIS integration creates lock-in; migrating to Canvas is painful

high

PowerSchool's 2024 breach hit Schoology users; missed basic security step

medium

Enterprise pricing is quote-based; reported quotes around $7/student/year

medium

Free Basic lacks enterprise features; upgrading means sales negotiation

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free Basic tier works for individual teachers and schools
  • Deep SIS integration as part of the PowerSchool suite
  • Proven at scale: supports more than 20 million users
  • Runs a Bugcrowd bug bounty for student data protection
  • Widely adopted; one of the fastest-growing K-12 LMSs

Cons

  • Reviewers call it overly complicated and not intuitive
  • Only handles basics well; falls short beyond that
  • CVE-2025-4110 disclosed against the product in 2025
  • Parent company PowerSchool breach exposed student data
  • District admins publicly report wanting to migrate away

Sources & method

- 12 sources - Parent company PowerSchool suffered a December 2024 breach exposing student data, with Schoology listed among affected systems; one 2025 CVE disclosed; Bugcrowd bounty runs.

official x1review x6security x3news x2
  • PowerSchool data breach (Dec 2024), Breach exposed student and staff data; Schoology's learning management was named in the breach notice. Experts said basic security steps were missed.
  • CVE-2025-4110, A vulnerability record published April 2025 against Schoology; vulnerability databases assess it as difficult to exploit.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Free tier plus reported $7/student/year is cheap
  • Ease of use: 2/5. Reviewers call it overly complicated and not intuitive
  • Feature depth: 4/5. District-grade scale, SIS integration, mobile apps
  • Support quality. No clear directional evidence in reviewed sources
  • Security posture: 2/5. Parent breach exposed student data; 2025 CVE disclosed
  • 20M+ Users supported across K-12 deployments (JMI)
  • $7/student/yr Reported price one district's quote on Reddit
  • Yes Free tier Schoology Basic for individual teachers
  • $32M Funding raised before PowerSchool acquisition

Pricing

Basic

Free

  • For individual teachers and schools
  • Core LMS features

Enterprise (Schoology Learning)

Quote-based, ~$7/student/year reported

  • SIS integration
  • District admin tools
  • PowerSchool suite

Security

Parent company PowerSchool suffered a December 2024 breach exposing student data, with Schoology listed among affected systems; one 2025 CVE disclosed; Bugcrowd bounty runs.

  • PowerSchool data breach (Dec 2024)Breach exposed student and staff data; Schoology's learning management was named in the breach notice. Experts said basic security steps were missed.⁶
  • CVE-2025-4110A vulnerability record published April 2025 against Schoology; vulnerability databases assess it as difficult to exploit.⁷

What users say

Feedback is split: teachers say it works for basics but many find it clunky, and some district admins are actively looking to leave.

“Schoology quoted me $7/student/year”
Reddit, r/k12sysadmin
“Overly complicated, not intuitive, fails”
GetApp review
“Time to dump Schoology and find a new LMS”
Reddit, r/k12sysadmin (thread title)

Companies that use it

  • Los Angeles Unified School District
  • Buffalo Public Schools
  • Peninsula School District
  • McHenry Community High School
  • Delaware K-12 (statewide adoption)11
Full analysis

Based on ~40 public sources; many review snippets were truncated, lowering confidence.

District-grade K-12 LMS under PowerSchool. Fits big districts; overkill for small schools; security record is bumpy.

Methodology

Based on ~40 public sources; many review snippets were truncated, lowering confidence.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. security
  7. security
  8. news
  9. security
  10. review
  11. news
  12. review

Add this review to your site

This check for Schoology says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.