shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use ScienceDirect?

Elsevier's peer-reviewed research library - sciencedirect.com

Depends. If your university, hospital, or company library already pays for access, use it — the content is unmatched. Individuals should not pay ~$40 per article; use PubMed or Google Scholar instead.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 12+ public sources: Elsevier official pages, Reddit threads, Trustpilot, and comparison sites. No security findings or named corporate customers in evidence.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo usable support evidence
  • Security postureNo security page or findings found

Pricing

~$40/article

Per-article purchase

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Institutional subscriptionCustom, negotiated
ScienceDirect AI personal subscriptionNot disclosed in sources

Best for

  • Universities and research libraries
  • Medical and pharma R&D teams
  • Researchers with institutional access
  • Deep literature reviews

Not for

  • Individuals needing one article (~$40 each)
  • Students without library access
  • Small businesses without research budgets
  • Anyone expecting free full-text access

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

No institutional access? Each full-text article runs ~$40. Never buy casually.

medium

Pricing is institution-negotiated and opaque; individuals get few options.

medium

2025 AI features annoyed parts of the research community at launch.

low

Trustpilot has just 7 reviews — no reliable support signal exists.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 3.3 million peer-reviewed articles across science, health, medicine
  • 3,000+ peer-reviewed journals in one platform
  • AI features launched March 2025 for faster research insights
  • Institutional subscription options for academic and government customers

Cons

  • Full articles cost roughly $40 each without institutional access
  • 1.6K-upvote Reddit thread bluntly calls the experience horrible
  • AI rollout drew immediate backlash from researchers
  • Only 7 Trustpilot reviews — sentiment data is thin

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed; no product security page was found either.

official x3review x6security x2news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • ~$40/article

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Paywalls at ~$40 per article
  • Ease of use: 2/5. 1.6K-upvote Reddit rant about experience
  • Feature depth: 5/5. 3.3M articles, 3,000+ journals, new AI tools
  • Support quality. No usable support evidence
  • Security posture. No security page or findings found
  • 3.3M Articles Science, health, medical
  • 3,000+ Peer-reviewed journals Elsevier titles
  • ~$40 Per-article price Without institutional access
  • 7 Trustpilot reviews Very thin sample

Pricing

Per-article purchase

~$40/article

  • Single full-text article
  • No subscription required

Institutional subscription

Not disclosed

  • Campus or company-wide access
  • Sold via libraries

ScienceDirect AI personal subscription

Not disclosed

  • AI reading tools
  • Individual digital subscription

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed; no product security page was found either.

What users say

Researchers value the content depth, but Reddit sentiment on paywalls and the site experience is heavily negative.

“This is horrible Science Direct!”
Reddit, r/research
“Do I really have to pay ScienceDirect $40 just to get a full”
Reddit, r/research
“Elsevier adds “AI” to sciencedirect”
Reddit, r/PublishOrPerish
Full analysis

Based on 12+ public sources: Elsevier official pages, Reddit threads, Trustpilot, and comparison sites. No security findings or named corporate customers in evidence.

Unmatched 3.3M-article library — but paywalled at ~$40/article. Use it via an institution, not your wallet.

Methodology

Based on 12+ public sources: Elsevier official pages, Reddit threads, Trustpilot, and comparison sites. No security findings or named corporate customers in evidence.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. news
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. security
  12. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.