shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Sedo?

Buy. Park. Sell. Domains. - sedo.com

Depends. Buy if you're trading premium or portfolio domains — it's the largest aftermarket and reach is unmatched. Skip it for a standard domain registration; a normal registrar is cheaper and simpler.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated, limiting verbatim quotes.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useInsufficient usability evidence in reviewed sources
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Commission per sale

Marketplace sale

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees$99 one-time
HardwareNot disclosed
Brokerage$99 one-time fee + commission

Best for

  • Domain investors with portfolios
  • Premium/aftermarket domain sellers
  • Buyers chasing taken domain names
  • Registrars wanting MLS distribution

Not for

  • First-time buyers needing a standard $10 registration
  • Sellers of low-value domains — commissions eat margins
  • Anyone expecting responsive customer support
  • Sellers who can't tolerate sudden listing cancellations

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Commission charged on every sale; sellers report the fee structure is misleading — read the price list first

medium

$99 one-time brokerage fee stacks on top of sale commission

medium

Payouts and transfers can stall on security checks, delaying deals

medium

Parent IONOS announced plans to sell Sedo (Nov 2025) — direction uncertain

Pros and cons

Pros

  • World's largest domain marketplace with 24M+ listed domains
  • Free, automatic domain transfer service protects buyer and seller
  • Multiple sale paths: fixed price, auctions, and brokerage
  • BBB-accredited business since Cambridge, MA profile
  • SedoMLS distribution puts listings across partner registrars

Cons

  • Sellers call the commission fee structure 'very misleading'
  • Reviews allege no customer service
  • Active auction listings cancelled due to security checks
  • Transfers stall on security holds
  • Ownership dispute complaints published by buyers

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 13 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x7security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Commission per sale

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Sellers publicly call fee structure misleading
  • Ease of use. Insufficient usability evidence in reviewed sources
  • Feature depth: 4/5. 24M+ listings, auctions, brokerage, parking, MLS
  • Support quality: 2/5. Reviews allege poor service; holds stall transfers
  • Security posture: 3/5. No public vulns; malware claim denied
  • 24M+ Domains listed Claims world's largest marketplace
  • $99 one-time Brokerage fee Plus commission on sale
  • $186.5M Revenue Owler estimate
  • Accredited BBB status Cambridge, MA profile

Pricing

Marketplace sale

Commission per sale

  • Fixed price or auction listings
  • Free automatic domain transfer

Brokerage

$99 one-time fee + commission

  • Human broker negotiates for you
  • Suited to higher-value domains

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Sentiment splits: sellers value the marketplace reach but repeatedly complain about fees, support, and transfer holds.

Alternatives

Compare Sedo with each alternative.

  • Afternic

    GoDaddy's comparable aftermarket with a large buyer network

    Sedo vs Afternic
  • Dan.com

    Simpler seller experience with lower-friction transfers

  • Flippa

    Broader marketplace covering domains plus full websites

    Sedo vs Flippa
  • NameSilo Marketplace

    Registrar-integrated marketplace with cheaper renewals

Companies that use it

Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated, limiting verbatim quotes.

Largest domain marketplace — great reach for domain trades, but fees draw 'misleading' complaints and support reviews are rough.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; several review snippets were truncated, limiting verbatim quotes.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. news
  12. security
  13. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.