shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use SHRM?

The Voice of All Things Work — HR membership, certification, and resources - shrm.org

Depends. Buy only if you're an HR professional whose employers value the SHRM-CP/SCP credential; it's the de facto HR certification with real recognition. Skip if you're shopping for HR software or a low-cost credential — this is a membership org, and users flag cost and prep quality.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~40 public sources; fragmented evidence, no aggregate review ratings or named corporate customers found. Exam prices marked as guesses from category knowledge.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usability evidence found
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNo findings in reviewed sources

Pricing

Guess: ~$475–$525

SHRM-CP / SCP exam

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesGuess: ~$475
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Learning System prepPaid (premium)
MembershipPaid annually

Best for

  • HR professionals seeking CP/SCP credentials
  • Employers funding HR team development
  • HR teams needing toolkits and research
  • Job seekers signaling HR competency

Not for

  • Teams shopping for HR or payroll software — this is not a tool
  • Anyone wanting a cheap or fast credential
  • Non-HR professionals — little value outside HR roles
  • Budget-sensitive buyers: membership, exam, prep, and retakes stack up

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Exam fees repeat on every retake; one candidate reported a fifth attempt

medium

Certifications can lapse without recertification — one user let theirs lapse

medium

Prep materials reportedly contain typos and AI-generated content despite the price

low

's product security page returns 404; no public security documentation found

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Widely recognized HR credential, including globally
  • Large library of HR toolkits, templates, and research
  • Many third-party prep options: practice tests, apps, courses
  • Local chapters and events for networking

Cons

  • Users call it a 'blatant money grab'
  • Prep system criticized for 'AI slop & typos' at premium price
  • Many candidates fail and retake the exam repeatedly
  • Critics question SHRM's internal practices and policy reversals
  • BBB complaints over trial and billing handling

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/07/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x5security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Guess: ~$475–$525

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Users call it a blatant money grab
  • Ease of use. No usability evidence found
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Large content library; prep quality questioned
  • Support quality: 2/5. BBB complaints over trial handling
  • Security posture. No findings in reviewed sources
  • Guess: ~$475 Exam fee (SHRM-CP) member rate; ~$525 nonmember (2022 handbook)
  • No Free tier membership, exam, and prep are all paid
  • 5th attempt Reported attempts one candidate's exam-count complaint
  • None found Aggregate ratings no consolidated review score in sources

Pricing

SHRM-CP / SCP exam

Guess: ~$475–$525

  • One exam attempt per fee
  • Digital badge via Credly

Learning System prep

Paid (premium)

  • Self-paced study system
  • Users report typos and AI content

Membership

Paid annually

  • Toolkits, research, event discounts

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Users credit the credential with career value, but many report exam difficulty, costly retakes, and complaints that prep materials and pricing fall short.

“I failed the SHRM-CP exam today and I feel defeated [CT]”
Reddit, r/humanresources
“SHRM is a blatant money grab and I'm starting to hate”
Reddit, r/humanresources
“I passed the SHRM-CP exam yesterday! [N/A]”
Reddit, r/humanresources
Full analysis

Based on ~40 public sources; fragmented evidence, no aggregate review ratings or named corporate customers found. Exam prices marked as guesses from category knowledge.

Not software — an HR membership and cert body. Worth it only if the SHRM-CP credential pays off; users flag cost.

Methodology

Based on ~40 public sources; fragmented evidence, no aggregate review ratings or named corporate customers found. Exam prices marked as guesses from category knowledge.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. news
  8. news
  9. security
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.