shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

AWS Skill Builder Review

Depends

Should I use AWS Skill Builder?

AWS Skill Builder is an online learning center where you can learn from AWS experts and build cloud skills online. With access to 600+ free courses, certification exam prep, and training that allows you to build practical skills there's something for everyone. - skillbuilder.aws

· 1 month ago

Buy the free tier or a short subscription if you're chasing an AWS certification on an AWS-only stack. Skip it if you need reliable hands-on labs or multi-cloud training; third-party courses get better user reviews.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources: Reddit, repost.aws, official AWS pages, G2. Exact subscription prices and aggregate review ratings not shown in snippets.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
IndividualMonthly subscription (price not shown in reviewed sources)
TeamCustom, sold via AWS and partners

Best for

  • AWS certification candidates
  • Budget learners using the free tier
  • Teams standardizing on AWS with SSO

Not for

  • Multi-cloud learners needing Azure or GCP content
  • Hands-on learners who need working labs
  • Teams wanting responsive support with their training spend
  • Buyers who want clear pricing before checkout

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Key exam-prep content and pretests sit behind the paid subscription, not the free tier

medium

Labs break often, wasting paid subscription time

medium

Users say subscription pricing is hard to find on official pages

medium

Checkout failures can go unresolved for days

Pros and cons

Pros

  • 600+ free courses direct from AWS
  • 7-day free trial available for individual subscription
  • Some users passed AWS certs using only Skill Builder
  • Official exam prep plans and pretests for certifications
  • Team subscription includes SSO for org rollouts

Cons

  • Users report labs that simply don't work
  • Harsh Reddit criticism of overall content quality
  • Some users switch to DigitalCloud Training instead
  • Support case sat unassigned for four days

Sources & method

- 8 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x4security x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 8

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Reddit split on whether subscription is worth paying
  • Ease of use: 2/5. Users report broken labs and clunky experience
  • Feature depth: 4/5. 600+ courses, exam prep plans, labs, team SSO
  • Support quality: 2/5. Checkout failure case unassigned for four days
  • Security posture: 4/5. SSO support, security page, no public vulns
  • 600+ Free courses AWS official catalog
  • 7 days Free trial Individual subscription
  • Free, Individual, Team Plans Team tier sold via partners

Pricing

Free

Free

  • 600+ digital courses
  • Standard self-paced content

Individual

Monthly subscription (price not shown in reviewed sources)

  • 7-day free trial
  • Exam prep plans and pretests
  • Labs and practice content

Team

Not disclosed

  • SSO authentication
  • Bulk seat management

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reddit is split: some users passed certifications free on Skill Builder, while others call the platform trash and switch to third-party prep.

“I passed the CCP with only studying the material in AWS Skill Builder.”
Reddit, r/AWSCertifications
“I used the paid preparation course on AWS Skill Builder, and it helped”
Reddit, r/AWSCertifications
“Skill Builder is kind of trash”
Reddit, r/AWSCertifications
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources: Reddit, repost.aws, official AWS pages, G2. Exact subscription prices and aggregate review ratings not shown in snippets.

Official AWS training: strong free content, broken labs, paywalled exam prep. Cert candidates fine; power users look elsewhere.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources: Reddit, repost.aws, official AWS pages, G2. Exact subscription prices and aggregate review ratings not shown in snippets.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. official
  6. official
  7. security
  8. official

Add this review to your site

This check for AWS Skill Builder says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.