shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Smashing Magazine?

Magazine on CSS, JavaScript, front-end, accessibility, UX and design. For developers, designers and front-end engineers. - smashingmagazine.com

Depends. Front-end devs and designers should bookmark it — most content is free and well-regarded by working developers. Pay for the membership only if you want the ebook/video library; skip it entirely if you expected a tool or structured course platform.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; independent review volume is thin (3 Trustpilot reviews).

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityOnly 3 Trustpilot reviews; no support data
  • Security postureContent site; no findings either way

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Smashing MembershipNot publicly listed

Best for

  • Front-end developers and designers
  • Self-directed learners
  • Teams caring about accessibility and UX

Not for

  • Anyone expecting software or tooling — it's editorial content, not a product
  • Learners needing certified, structured curricula
  • Teams shopping for a training platform with admin controls
  • Non-technical buyers

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Membership price isn't publicly indexed — verify current cost on-site before subscribing

low

Expect occasional paid 'special issue' newsletter promos, capped at one monthly

low

Tiny review base (3 Trustpilot reviews) makes reputation hard to judge

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Long-running and established: publishing since September 2006
  • Most articles free to read; free monthly newsletter
  • Trusted by developers: "really good, I read it regularly"
  • Broad coverage: CSS, JavaScript, accessibility, UX, design
  • Independent and reader-funded; no outside funding raised

Cons

  • Independent reviews are scarce: Trustpilot shows just 3 reviews
  • Membership perks and price not visible in indexed pages
  • It's editorial content, not tooling — nothing beyond reading
  • Some Reddit threads question whether article quality has slipped

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x3news x4

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Vast free archive; membership optional
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Fast site after Netlify migration
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Deep multi-topic archive since 2006
  • Support quality. Only 3 Trustpilot reviews; no support data
  • Security posture. Content site; no findings either way
  • 4/5 Trustpilot rating only 3 reviews
  • Sept 2006 Founded independent publication
  • Yes Free content articles + monthly newsletter
  • $0 Funding raised no outside investors

Pricing

Free

$0

  • All published articles
  • Monthly newsletter

Smashing Membership

Not publicly listed

  • Extras not detailed in indexed sources

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Developers on Reddit broadly praise it as a regular read, though a few threads question quality trends.

“Smashing Magazine is really good, I read it regularly.”
Reddit, r/webdev
“This is a nicely presented collection of some of my favorite posts.”
Apple Books reviewer
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources; independent review volume is thin (3 Trustpilot reviews).

Beloved free front-end/UX magazine since 2006. Read it free; pay only if you want the membership extras.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources; independent review volume is thin (3 Trustpilot reviews).

Sources

  1. Smashing Magazine homepagesmashingmagazine.com
    official
  2. Smashing Membershipsmashingmagazine.com
    official
  3. The Smashing Email Newslettersmashingmagazine.com
    official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. news
  8. news
  9. news
  10. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.