shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Smokeball?

SPARK 2026 - Grab your tickets before they sell out! - smokeball.com

Depends. Buy if you run a document-heavy small law firm and will pay a premium for automation and built-in billing. Skip it if budget matters more — price hikes and opaque quote-based pricing are the top complaints, and Clio or PracticePanther fit leaner firms better.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14 public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, official pricing/security pages, and news coverage.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

Four plans

From $49/user/mo, sales-quoted

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Small law firms
  • Document-heavy practices
  • Solo attorneys wanting automation
  • Hourly-billing shops needing trust accounting

Not for

  • Budget-sensitive solo lawyers
  • Any non-law-firm team — it is legal-specific
  • Buyers who want transparent, self-serve pricing
  • Anyone unwilling to absorb annual price increases

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Users report repeated price hikes, including documented 100% increases — budget for escalation

high

Eight-year users report overcharging and leaving; model total cost before committing

medium

No transparent pricing; sales-quoted and varies by firm size

medium

Reviews are polarized — run a trial and negotiate pricing locks before signing

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Deep document automation with law-firm template libraries
  • Lawyerist reviewers report being extremely satisfied
  • ISO 27001 certified with 2FA and AWS hosting
  • Switchers from Clio found it less clunky
  • Built-in billing and trust accounting

Cons

  • Costs about 2x some competitors
  • Documented 100% price hikes drove long-time users away
  • Some Reddit lawyers flatly say 'Avoid Smokeball'
  • Quote-based pricing; you must contact sales
  • Users report overcharging and are hunting alternatives

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/02/2026 - 14 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed. ISO 27001 certified, 2FA available, hosted on AWS.

official x2review x6security x3news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • From $49/user/mo, sales-quoted

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Priced ~2x rivals, with documented hikes
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Capterra users call it easy to use
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Doc automation, AI, billing, trust accounting
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 4/5. ISO 27001, 2FA, AWS; no breaches found
  • $49/user/mo Starting price Per Capterra; actual price is sales-quoted
  • 4 tiers Pricing plans Depends on firm size, no public price list
  • 2012 Founded Per AWS case study
  • $30M Funding raised Private round, Sept 2021

Pricing

Four plans

From $49/user/mo, sales-quoted

  • Price depends on firm size and plan
  • Trust accounting via Smokeball Bill
  • No free tier mentioned in sources

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

ISO 27001 certified, 2FA available, hosted on AWS.

What users say

Users are polarized: many small-firm lawyers love the automation, while others report price hikes and overcharging that pushed them to alternatives.

“I LOVE Smokeball.”
Reddit, r/LawFirm
“Smokeball got stupid on pricing”
Reddit, r/LawFirm
“We have been using Practice Panther”
Reddit, r/LawFirm

Companies that use it

  • Reagan, Melton & Delaney, L.L.P.
  • Gort Law
  • Kent | Pincin Law Firm
  • Law Office of Matthew Lathrop
  • Strohman Ford Attorneys
Full analysis

Based on 14 public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, official pricing/security pages, and news coverage.

Powerful legal practice management for doc-heavy small firms, but repeated price hikes and sales-only pricing burn loyal customers.

Methodology

Based on 14 public sources: review sites, Reddit threads, official pricing/security pages, and news coverage.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. news
  8. official
  9. official
  10. security
  11. security
  12. security
  13. news
  14. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.