Should I use SoLo Funds?
Community finance platform where you borrow, lend and bank on your terms. - solofunds.com
Depends. Use it only as a last-resort small-dollar advance if banks and credit unions have turned you down — average cost is 17% plus a 10.4% average tip. Do not use it to lend: Reddit lenders report defaults and frustration, and Maryland regulators filed an enforcement case.
Confidence
Medium. Based on 20+ public sources; some review quotes truncated in snippets, and the reported data leak remains unconfirmed.
Ratings
- Value for money
- Ease of use
- Feature depth
- Support quality
- Security posture
Pricing
Borrowers
Avg 17% cost + 10.4% avg tip per loan
ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
LendersFree to lend; 5% for Investor Guarantee
Best for
- →Borrowers denied by banks needing small cash fast
- →Sub-prime borrowers without credit cards
- →Small, short-term advances only
Not for
- ×Lenders expecting reliable returns — Reddit reports defaults
- ×Anyone who can get a credit card or credit-union loan
- ×People needing large or long-term credit
- ×Residents of states where it's unavailable
Gotchas - check before you buy
high
'Optional' tips average 10.4% on top of 17% cost — real borrowing cost exceeds the pitch
medium
Investor Guarantee costs lenders 5% of the loan; defaults still hurt returns
medium
Availability varies by state and can be cut off retroactively
medium
Company cites its own Trustpilot score; BBB complaints and Reddit tell a messier story
Pros and cons
Pros
- +Rated 4.5/5 on Trustpilot by 2,000+ verified members
- +Serves borrowers traditional finance excludes, with Kiva partnership
- +Certified B Corporation
- +CFPB lawsuit dismissed in February 2025
- +$100M revenue on $53M raised — capital-efficient and durable
Cons
- −Average borrower cost is 17%, plus 10.4% average tip
- −Reddit lenders report defaults and poor returns
- −Maryland regulator opened an enforcement case (CFR-FY2023-13)
- −State access can vanish — a former PA user couldn't log in
- −Active BBB complaint record from consumers
Sources & method
Analyzed 10/01/2026 - 10 sources - No confirmed vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed; a user-reported data leak circulates on Reddit, and Maryland regulators filed a case.
official x3review x4news x3
- User-reported data leak (unconfirmed), A Reddit thread titled 'Solo Funds Data Leak' discusses a recent breach; not confirmed by official sources in the evidence reviewed.
Comments
One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.
No comments yet.