shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Star Labs Systems?

Linux laptops and mini PCs built for Linux users - starlabs.systems

Depends. Buy if you are a Linux enthusiast who wants purpose-built Linux hardware and can tolerate premium prices and slow shipping. Skip it if you need enterprise-grade procurement, fast refunds, or Windows-first support.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources. Caution: several unrelated companies share the 'StarLabs' name (e.g. STAR Labs SG security firm, starlabs.dev); they were excluded from this assessment.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

From £1,258.80

StarBook Horizon Plus (13.4-inch Linux laptop)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • Linux enthusiasts
  • Developers wanting Linux-first hardware
  • Buyers wanting upgradeable machines
  • Open-source supporters

Not for

  • Windows or macOS buyers
  • Budget shoppers — entry laptop is £1,258.80
  • Anyone needing fast, frictionless returns
  • Guess: Enterprise fleets needing vendor certifications and SLAs

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Return refunds may come back short — one buyer got only the excluded VAT refunded

medium

Long delivery waits have spooked buyers into asking if the company is legit

low

No vendor-specific driver software — relies on stock Linux support

low

Almost no footprint on major B2B review platforms (G2 shows zero reviews)

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Purpose-built Linux laptops, tablets and mini PCs
  • Community reports machines are upgradeable
  • Praised build quality — solid aluminum body in independent review
  • Favorable independent review calls StarBook 'a new king'
  • Active owner community and company engagement on Reddit

Cons

  • Premium pricing — entry laptop starts at £1,258.80
  • Refund complaints: buyer received only partial VAT refund on return
  • Buyers report regret — thread titled 'buying from Star Labs was a mistake'
  • Buyers question legitimacy during long order waits
  • Some forum users still debate trustworthiness for hardened setups

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 14 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x11

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • From £1,258.80

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Premium prices; mixed value sentiment among buyers
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Linux works out of the box per reviews
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Laptops, tablet, mini PCs; upgradeable parts
  • Support quality: 3/5. Good guides online; refund complaints recur
  • Security posture: 3/5. Publishes firmware notes and security guidance
  • £1,258.80 Starting price StarBook Horizon Plus, official site
  • 4.4/5 WorthEPenny rating 40 reviews (aggregator)
  • No Free tier Hardware — one-off purchase
  • 3 Product lines Laptops, StarLite tablet, mini PCs

Pricing

StarBook Horizon Plus (13.4-inch Linux laptop)

From £1,258.80

  • Linux-first laptop
  • Clearance and reduced-price hardware also sold
  • Mini PCs and StarLite tablet in same store

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources. Caution: several unrelated companies share the 'StarLabs' name (e.g. STAR Labs SG security firm, starlabs.dev); they were excluded from this assessment.

Premium Linux laptops with real Linux support — great for enthusiasts, risky if you need painless refunds or enterprise procurement.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources. Caution: several unrelated companies share the 'StarLabs' name (e.g. STAR Labs SG security firm, starlabs.dev); they were excluded from this assessment.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. official
  9. Star Labs Systems homepageus.starlabs.systems
    official
  10. review
  11. review
  12. review
  13. review
  14. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.