shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use StorMagic?

Virtualization software for storage, HCI and edge computing - stormagic.com

Depends. Buy if you run small 2-3 node edge or remote-office clusters and want cheaper, simpler HA storage than VMware vSAN. Skip it for large core datacenters, Proxmox environments, or if you refuse to buy without a public price list.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 30+ public sources; no public pricing figures found, so all costs require a vendor quote.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

SvSAN

Not published; perpetual, subscription, or cloud

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
SvHCISubscription; not published

Best for

  • Edge/ROBO sites with 2-3 node clusters
  • VMware vSAN refugees cutting costs
  • Retail and remote offices without onsite IT
  • SMBs wanting simple HA storage

Not for

  • Large core datacenters needing scale-out SANs
  • Proxmox shops — reported incompatible
  • Buyers who won't purchase without published prices
  • Homelabs — plain NAS or Proxmox is far cheaper

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Sold via channel and Cisco price list — expect quote variance; negotiate

medium

Perpetual vs subscription vs cloud, plus hypervisor choice, complicates comparing quotes

medium

Moving to Proxmox? Reddit reports SvSAN incompatibility — budget migration costs

low

'87% cheaper' is StorMagic's own marketing figure — demand your own TCO quote

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Top-rated HCI by G2 users; 198 Gartner reviews
  • Purpose-built for small two-node edge clusters where vSAN is overkill
  • Claims 87% cheaper than VMware vSAN for edge sites
  • Reddit users report strong support experiences
  • Optional FIPS-validated encryption via Thales partnership

Cons

  • No pricing published in any reviewed source
  • Identical promo posts across multiple subreddits look like astroturfing
  • A sysadmin thread calls the company 'sketchy'
  • Reported incompatibility when migrating to Proxmox
  • Small vendor, growth-credit funded, versus VMware/HPE scale

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x6security x2news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • Not published; perpetual, subscription, or cloud

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Users cite lower TCO; 87%-cheaper claim
  • Ease of use: 4/5. IT Pro calls edge deployment flawless
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Full HCI stack, encryption, witness node
  • Support quality: 4/5. Reddit users praise support responsiveness
  • Security posture: 4/5. FIPS encryption, Thales partner, published policies
  • 198 Gartner reviews Enterprise software reviews
  • 98 G2 reviews Across StorMagic products
  • 87% cheaper Savings claim vs vSAN Vendor's own figure
  • 20 years Time in market Per company anniversary page

Pricing

SvSAN

Not published; perpetual, subscription, or cloud

  • Virtual SAN for small clusters
  • Optional encryption
  • Witness node for high availability

SvHCI

Subscription; not published

  • Full-stack hyperconverged infrastructure
  • Hypervisor migration support

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reviewers on G2, Gartner and IT Pro praise value and support for edge deployments, while some Reddit voices are skeptical and identical promotional posts appeared across several subreddits.

“flawless highly available storage at the edge”
IT Pro review of SvSAN 6.3
“Sketchy UK-based company”
Reddit, r/sysadmin

Alternatives

Compare StorMagic with each alternative.

  • VMware vSAN

    The pricier incumbent StorMagic undercuts at edge sites

  • StarWind HCA

    Rival edge-focused virtual SAN, frequently compared head-to-head

  • Proxmox VE

    Free open-source stack; check StorMagic compatibility before switching

Companies that use it

  • Toronto Internet Exchange (TORIX)
  • Sheetz
  • City of Süßen
  • Mt Hood Meadows
Full analysis

Based on 30+ public sources; no public pricing figures found, so all costs require a vendor quote.

Well-reviewed, cheaper-than-vSAN HCI for small edge clusters; skip for core datacenters, Proxmox shops, or no-quote buyers.

Methodology

Based on 30+ public sources; no public pricing figures found, so all costs require a vendor quote.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. official
  7. official
  8. review
  9. news
  10. official
  11. security
  12. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.