shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

StraighterLine Review

Depends

Should I use StraighterLine?

Low-cost online college courses for transfer credit. - straighterline.com

· 3 days ago

Buy this if your college accepts transfer credits and you finish courses fast. Skip it if your school rejects outside credits or you work slowly, because the monthly fee adds up.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 25+ public sources. Unrelated breach articles in the security feed carry no StraighterLine findings.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo direct evidence in sources.
  • Feature depthCatalog size not quantified in sources.
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNo security findings in sources.

Pricing

$99/month

Membership

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Individual coursesfrom $79
$5K Degree Program$5,000 pathway

Best for

  • Budget students chasing gen-ed credits
  • Fast, self-paced learners
  • Transfer students cutting tuition costs
  • Dual-enrollment high schoolers

Not for

  • Students whose college rejects transfer credit
  • Slow learners; the monthly clock raises cost
  • Anyone expecting a degree directly from StraighterLine
  • Guess: learners needing hands-on labs or live instruction

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Your home college decides credit transfer. Check its policy before you enroll.

medium

The monthly clock rewards fast finishers. Slow students pay more overall.

medium

Prices vary by plan and course. One forum saw $399 next to $99 membership.

medium

Some plans add $39-$49 per course on top of the $99 membership.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Three-credit courses cost $69-$79, far below campus tuition.
  • One flat membership fee covers an all-you-can-take course catalog.
  • Self-paced online courses earn transferable college credit.
  • $5K bachelor's degree pathway with University of the People.
  • Bellevue University partnership adds accelerated online associate degrees.

Cons

  • It is not a college, so credits need a receiving school.
  • Complaint threads flag negative ratings on support.
  • Some pages show $399 per course, confusing the $99 price.
  • Students must pay out of pocket, per forum reports.

Sources & method

- 11 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x5news x4

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $99/month

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Credits cost a fraction of campus tuition.
  • Ease of use. No direct evidence in sources.
  • Feature depth. Catalog size not quantified in sources.
  • Support quality: 2/5. Complaint threads cite support frustrations.
  • Security posture. No security findings in sources.
  • 4/5 Trustpilot TrustScore Per Trustpilot snippet
  • $79 Starting course price Per course (ConsumerAffairs)
  • $99/month Membership Flat monthly fee
  • 350,000+ Students served Company claim

Pricing

Membership

$99/month

  • Flat monthly fee
  • All-you-can-take courses on some plans
  • Some plans add $39-$49 per course

Individual courses

from $79

  • Three-credit online courses
  • Prices vary by course

$5K Degree Program

$5,000 pathway

  • Bachelor's pathway with University of the People
  • Membership unlocks four months of gen-ed courses

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Users praise the low price and self-paced format, while complaint threads flag support and transfer frustrations.

“It is a great deal, but I can't give an accurate review”
DegreeForum member
“Just one fee and an all-you-can-eat course offering.”
DegreeForum member
“I loved straighterline. Its better than clep in some case”
DegreeForum, ryoder

Companies that use it

  • University of the People⁹
  • Bellevue University10
Full analysis

Based on 25+ public sources. Unrelated breach articles in the security feed carry no StraighterLine findings.

Cheap $99/month college credits; the deal only works if your school accepts the transfer.

Methodology

Based on 25+ public sources. Unrelated breach articles in the security feed carry no StraighterLine findings.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. news
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. Straighterline reviewsdegreeforum.net
    review
  8. review
  9. news
  10. news
  11. news

Add this review to your site

This check for StraighterLine says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.