shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Substance3d?

Adobe's professional 3D texturing, material, and modeling suite (Painter, Designer, Sampler, Modeler, Stager) - substance3d.adobe.com

Depends. Buy if your team does serious 3D texturing daily and can live with Adobe subscriptions. Hobbyists and occasional users should skip it — free tools cover most of what they need.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~30 public sources: community reviews, security bulletins, and reseller pricing listings. Many snippets truncated; pricing figures partly estimated.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

Guess: ~$49.99/mo annual

Individual (Collection)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
TeamsContact sales
EnterpriseContact sales

Best for

  • Game studios texturing assets
  • Material and texture artists
  • Product visualization teams
  • Enterprises needing volume 3D licensing

Not for

  • Hobbyists — Blender does it free
  • One-off projects; a subscription never pays off
  • Buyers wanting a perpetual license
  • Total 3D beginners facing steep learning curves

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

No perpetual license — cancel and your texturing tooling goes with it.

medium

Older listings show 100 assets/month caps; verify your plan before buying.

medium

Patch cadence is constant — unpatched installs carry RCE/DoS CVEs.

medium

Designer is node-based; budget weeks before you're productive.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Painter is widely recommended as the go-to 3D texturing tool.
  • Suite covers painting, materials, modeling, and staging end to end.
  • Asset library download limits were scrapped in January 2025.
  • Available via major enterprise resellers like CDW.
  • Steam users call Painter an amazing program.

Cons

  • Subscription-only; Steam buyers confused about perpetual ownership.
  • Designer criticized as limiting and hard to learn.
  • Steady stream of CVEs, including RCEs, across the apps.
  • Painter has a steep learning curve for newcomers.
  • Adobe customers publicly complain about pricing.

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/06/2026 - 12 sources - Actively patched with Adobe bulletins, but a steady CVE stream (RCEs, DoS) spans Painter, Designer, Sampler, Modeler, and Stager.

official x1review x6security x2news x3
  • CVE-2026-83962 — Substance 3D Modeler RCE, Remote code execution vulnerability in Modeler, disclosed September 2026.
  • CVE-2026-48426 — Substance 3D Designer RCE, Remote code execution vulnerability in Designer, disclosed August 2026.
  • 14 vulnerabilities patched in Painter, Adobe fixed 14 Painter vulnerabilities in a single May 2023 bulletin.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Guess: ~$49.99/mo annual

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Subscription-only; public pricing complaints
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Sampler scores 9/10; Painter/Designer are steep
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Full pro texturing and material pipeline
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. Frequent CVEs, but Adobe patches promptly
  • 110 G2 Painter video reviews Painter reviews on G2
  • 9/10 Sampler ease-of-use Softwarefinder review score
  • 14 Painter CVEs in one patch batch Patched May 2023
  • 100/mo per seat Enterprise asset downloads Older reseller cap; limits scrapped Jan 2025

Pricing

Individual (Collection)

Guess: ~$49.99/mo annual

  • All five apps: Painter, Designer, Sampler, Modeler, Stager
  • Substance assets library access

Teams

Not disclosed

  • Per-seat licensing
  • Listed at 100 assets/month (pre-2025 caps now lifted)

Enterprise

Not disclosed

  • Volume deployment via resellers (CDW, PCNation)
  • Procurement and admin support

Security

Actively patched with Adobe bulletins, but a steady CVE stream (RCEs, DoS) spans Painter, Designer, Sampler, Modeler, and Stager.

  • CVE-2026-83962 — Substance 3D Modeler RCERemote code execution vulnerability in Modeler, disclosed September 2026.⁶
  • CVE-2026-48426 — Substance 3D Designer RCERemote code execution vulnerability in Designer, disclosed August 2026.
  • 14 vulnerabilities patched in PainterAdobe fixed 14 Painter vulnerabilities in a single May 2023 bulletin.⁵

Companies that could

  • DNEG Uses Foundry tools (VFX pipeline) instead
Full analysis

Based on ~30 public sources: community reviews, security bulletins, and reseller pricing listings. Many snippets truncated; pricing figures partly estimated.

Industry-standard 3D texturing suite — great for pros, subscription-only overkill for hobbyists (Blender is free).

Methodology

Based on ~30 public sources: community reviews, security bulletins, and reseller pricing listings. Many snippets truncated; pricing figures partly estimated.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. security
  6. security
  7. news
  8. news
  9. official
  10. news
  11. review
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.