shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Sumsub?

Cookie Break Time - sumsub.com

Depends. Regulated fintechs, crypto exchanges, and banks needing deep KYC/KYB/AML in one platform get real value. Small teams with light compliance needs, or buyers for whom the 2026 breach is disqualifying, should look elsewhere.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20 public sources; review quotes available only as truncated snippets, so none are quoted verbatim.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNot disclosed
  • Security posture

Pricing

from $1

Basic

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Crypto exchanges
  • Fintech onboarding
  • Banks and financial institutions
  • High-volume KYB + AML needs

Not for

  • Small startups doing a handful of manual checks
  • Non-regulated teams with no compliance duty — pure overkill
  • Price-sensitive buyers chasing the cheapest per-check rate
  • Anyone for whom a KYC-vendor breach is disqualifying

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Feb 2026 security breach disclosure; assess incident scope and client impact before signing

medium

Per-verification pricing scales with user growth; model your volume before committing

medium

Cheaper switches exist — Didit advertises $0.33 per check

low

Support scope is contract-defined; read Support Guidelines for what help is included

Pros and cons

Pros

  • G2 Leader and Top Pick in identity verification
  • One platform for KYC, KYB, AML, and monitoring
  • Non-doc verification claims 6x faster US onboarding
  • Published Trust Center and SOC 2 Type 1 report
  • Named Leader in multiple G2 Winter reports

Cons

  • Reported breach went undetected for 18 months
  • Rivals undercut per-check price (Didit: $0.33)
  • SOC 2 report is Type 1, not Type 2
  • Crowded market: 8+ direct alternatives compared publicly
  • Full tier details gated behind sales contact

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/04/2026 - 16 sources - Published Trust Center and SOC 2 Type 1, but a Feb 2026 breach reportedly went undetected 18 months.

official x5review x4security x3news x4
  • Security incident update (Feb 2026), Sumsub published an incident update on Feb 4, 2026 following a reported breach.
  • Breach reportedly undetected 18 months, Third-party analysis claims the Sumsub breach went undetected for 18 months.
  • Security incident involving Merkur AG (Mar 2025), Sumsub issued a public statement on a security incident involving Merkur AG.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • from $1

    Starting price

  • 16

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Per-check pricing; rivals undercut on cost
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Fast onboarding flows; positive G2 reviews
  • Feature depth: 5/5. KYC, KYB, AML, non-doc, monitoring in one
  • Security posture: 2/5. 2026 breach undetected 18 months; SOC 2 Type 1 only
  • 125 G2 reviews G2 seller profile reviews
  • ~282 Trustpilot reviews across Trustpilot country profiles
  • from $1 Starting price 3 published plans
  • $36.6M Funding raised per Pitchbook profile

Pricing

Basic

from $1

  • Entry verification plan
  • Full tier details gated behind sales

Security

Published Trust Center and SOC 2 Type 1, but a Feb 2026 breach reportedly went undetected 18 months.

  • Security incident update (Feb 2026)Sumsub published an incident update on Feb 4, 2026 following a reported breach.⁷
  • Breach reportedly undetected 18 monthsThird-party analysis claims the Sumsub breach went undetected for 18 months.⁸
  • Security incident involving Merkur AG (Mar 2025)Sumsub issued a public statement on a security incident involving Merkur AG.⁹

What users say

G2 reviewers rank Sumsub a category leader across 125+ reviews, while Trustpilot hosts roughly 282 customer reviews.

Alternatives

Compare Sumsub with each alternative.

  • Entrust (Onfido)

    Legacy IDV vendor; publishes its own Sumsub comparison

Companies that use it

  • Bake
  • BTCC Exchange16
  • Jeton
  • Digital Surge
  • El Dorado
Full analysis

Based on 20 public sources; review quotes available only as truncated snippets, so none are quoted verbatim.

Category-leading KYC/KYB/AML platform — but a reported 18-month-undetected breach and per-check pricing give buyers pause.

Methodology

Based on 20 public sources; review quotes available only as truncated snippets, so none are quoted verbatim.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. Sumsub on Trustpilottrustpilot.com
    review
  4. Sumsub on Capterracapterra.co.nz
    review
  5. official
  6. Sumsub homepagesumsub.com
    official
  7. security
  8. security
  9. security
  10. official
  11. news
  12. news
  13. news
  14. official
  15. official
  16. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.