shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Supermarket News?

Supermarket News is the brand food-retail professionals count on for competitive intelligence, news, and information to make smart business decisions. - supermarketnews.com

Depends. Useful, free competitive intel if you work in or sell to grocery retail. Skip it if you need software, data tools, or anything outside food retail.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~15 usable public sources; most are the publication's own articles, profiles, and social pages, so independent user sentiment is thin.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo evidence reviewed
  • Feature depthNot software; no evidence
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNo findings either way

Pricing

Not published in sources

Magazine subscription

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Grocery chain leadership tracking competitors
  • Food brands selling into retail
  • Industry analysts and consultants
  • Grocery tech/ops trend watching

Not for

  • Anyone outside grocery/food retail
  • Shoppers wanting store or product reviews
  • Teams seeking software, data feeds, or APIs
  • General business news readers

Gotchas - check before you buy

low

No published subscription pricing; magazine sold via third-party resellers

low

Owned by Informa, an events conglomerate; expect editorial and event-marketing crossover

low

Two same-name sites (.com US, .co.nz NZ) trip up citations and readers

low

Receipt requests reportedly routed through third-party Q&A sites, not direct support

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Specialist grocery coverage spanning operations, finance, technology, and trends
  • Claims to be the most-trafficked food-retail news brand
  • Retailer of the Year awards carry industry weight (Wakefern; Lowes Foods 2025)
  • Long-running trade press; archived coverage dates to the 1960s
  • Active social presence: 252.1K TikTok likes plus Facebook, X, Instagram

Cons

  • Journalism only — no software, datasets, exports, or analytics
  • US-focused; similarly-named .co.nz edition confuses readers
  • No security or trust page published
  • Subscription support and receipts reportedly require third-party help

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 8 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x1security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • Not published in sources

    Starting price

  • 8

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Free-to-read news; subscription optional
  • Ease of use. No evidence reviewed
  • Feature depth. Not software; no evidence
  • Support quality: 2/5. Receipt/support friction reported via third parties
  • Security posture. No findings either way
  • Informa Connect Owner Part of Informa's foodservice group
  • Yes Free to read Optional paid magazine subscription
  • 252.1K likes TikTok audience @supermarket.news
  • 1960s Publishing since Archived issues cited from 1967

Pricing

Magazine subscription

Not published in sources

  • Print/digital industry magazine
  • Food-retail news and rankings

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reddit threads discuss Supermarket News coverage of Trader Joe's policies rather than reviewing the publication itself.

Full analysis

Based on ~15 usable public sources; most are the publication's own articles, profiles, and social pages, so independent user sentiment is thin.

Free grocery-industry trade news; sharp competitive intel for food retail, near-useless to everyone else.

Methodology

Based on ~15 usable public sources; most are the publication's own articles, profiles, and social pages, so independent user sentiment is thin.

Sources

  1. Supermarket News homepagesupermarketnews.com
    official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. Security pagesupermarketnews.com
    security
  6. Supermarket News NZ editionsupermarketnews.co.nz
    news
  7. news
  8. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.