shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Surpass Software?

The Easy-to-Use Library Management System for Education - surpasssoftware.com

Depends. A reasonable, affordable pick for school, church, and small public libraries, with cloud tiers topping out at $115/month. Skip it for large academic or consortium-scale systems, and trial it first since no independent user reviews exist.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 22 public sources; zero independent user reviews found, so usability and support claims are unverified.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useVendor claims easy; no independent reviews verify
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources reviewed
  • Security posture

Pricing

$115/month billed annually

Surpass Cloud — LARGE

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Surpass CL (church libraries)From $495 one-time
District centralized catalogingFrom $1,195

Best for

  • School libraries
  • Church and congregational libraries
  • Small public libraries
  • K-12 districts sharing one catalog

Not for

  • Large academic or public library systems — need SirsiDynix or Koha scale
  • Buyers who require verified user reviews before purchasing — none exist
  • Multi-branch consortia with complex federation needs
  • Home book collections — a spreadsheet or Readerware costs less

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

District cataloging $1,195 start is a 2004 figure — confirm current pricing.

medium

One source notes pricing 'varies (not listed on their Web site)' — expect a sales conversation.

medium

Church CL $495 price comes from a legacy Windows FAQ — product line may be outdated.

low

LARGE tier is $115/month billed annually; each tier has volume and patron limits.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Six cloud tiers scale up to 100,000 volumes
  • Free fully-functional trials offered
  • SIP2 support for self-check hardware
  • Dedicated congregational library edition
  • Two decades of releases since 2000

Cons

  • Zero independent user reviews on major platforms
  • Pricing varies; not fully listed on website
  • Enterprise-scale claims unverified against SirsiDynix or Koha

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/06/2026 - 13 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x7review x3news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $115/month billed annually

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Six tiers; top tier just $115/month
  • Ease of use. Vendor claims easy; no independent reviews verify
  • Feature depth: 3/5. SIP2, MARC download, district cataloging; mid-tier depth
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources reviewed
  • Security posture: 3/5. Published security page; no public vulns found
  • $115/mo Top cloud tier LARGE tier, billed annually, 100,000 volumes
  • From $495 Church library edition one-time, legacy Windows FAQ figure
  • 0 Independent reviews found comparison sites list it as unreviewed
  • 2000 Shipping since Surpass Central 2.0 launch, Calhoun, GA

Pricing

Surpass Cloud — LARGE

$115/month billed annually

  • 100,000 volumes
  • Cloud-hosted
  • Six tiers total available

Surpass CL (church libraries)

From $495 one-time

  • Basic church library pack
  • Legacy Windows product

District centralized cataloging

From $1,195

  • Priced per 10-19 libraries
  • 2004 figure — verify current rates

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

No independent user reviews were found; comparison platforms list Surpass as unreviewed.

Alternatives

Compare Surpass Software with each alternative.

  • Follett Software

    K-12 incumbent with 640 G2 reviews to inspect

  • Koha

    Free open-source ILS; you handle hosting and setup

  • LibraryWorld

    Simple, cheap cloud catalog for tiny libraries

Full analysis

Based on 22 public sources; zero independent user reviews found, so usability and support claims are unverified.

Affordable library system for schools and churches, $115/mo top tier. No independent reviews — trial first.

Methodology

Based on 22 public sources; zero independent user reviews found, so usability and support claims are unverified.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. Surpass Cloud documentationdocs.surpass.cloud
    official
  5. official
  6. review
  7. review
  8. official
  9. news
  10. news
  11. news
  12. official
  13. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.