shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Tabnine?

Tabnine is the AI code assistant that accelerates and simplifies software development while keeping your code private, secure, and compliant. - tabnine.com

Depends. Buy if you're an enterprise with strict code-privacy, compliance, or air-gapped deployment needs. Skip if you're a solo dev or small team — Tabnine has gone enterprise-only and discontinued individual plans.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources reviewed; several snippets were truncated, so quotes are partial.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources.
  • Security posture

Pricing

Custom quote

Code Assistant (Enterprise)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Dev (discontinued)Was $12/user/month

Best for

  • Regulated enterprises
  • Teams needing self-hosted or air-gapped AI
  • Orgs with IP and license-compliance concerns
  • Large dev teams wanting private models

Not for

  • Hobbyists and solo developers — plans discontinued
  • Startups wanting cheap per-seat autocomplete
  • Buyers wanting instant self-serve signup
  • Anyone without compliance-driven privacy requirements

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Pro accounts cancelled with refunds; individuals forced off the product

medium

Pricing is custom-quote and sales-led; no transparent self-serve tiers

medium

Can be resource intensive on local machines

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Deploys self-hosted or air-gapped, keeping code fully private
  • SOC 2 certified with zero data retention and end-to-end privacy
  • Provenance and attribution features help license compliance
  • Performed strongly in academic study of AI-generated code security
  • Agentic features plus enterprise context engine for large codebases

Cons

  • Individual Dev plan discontinued; now enterprise-only
  • Cancelled existing Pro accounts, alienating paying users
  • Reported to be resource intensive
  • Thin independent review base (14 Gartner reviews)

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 10 sources - SOC 2 certified, zero data retention, private installations. No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x3security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Was $12/user/month

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Individual plans axed; sales-led enterprise pricing.
  • Ease of use: 4/5. IDE-native; positive marks on G2.
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Agents, context engine, self-hosting, provenance tracking.
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources.
  • Security posture: 5/5. SOC 2, zero data retention, private installs.
  • 4.2/5 G2 rating via TestingTools summary of G2
  • Custom quote Pricing Enterprise-only; Dev plan discontinued
  • 2017 Founded per Forge Global
  • $102M Total funding over 5 rounds, per Tracxn

Pricing

Code Assistant (Enterprise)

Not disclosed

  • Self-hosted or private cloud option
  • Provenance, guardrails, context engine

Dev (discontinued)

Was $12/user/month

  • No longer offered to individuals

Security

SOC 2 certified, zero data retention, private installations.

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Users praise Tabnine's deployment control and privacy, but individual plan holders were upset when their accounts were cancelled.

“I'm a bit disappointed. I actually really liked”
Reddit, r/webdev

Alternatives

Compare Tabnine with each alternative.

  • GitHub Copilot

    Default choice; broader ecosystem and individual plans.

  • Kilo Code

    Positions itself for individuals after Tabnine went enterprise-only.

    Tabnine vs Kilo Code
  • Amazon Q Developer

    Top Gartner-listed alternative for AWS-centric teams.

Companies that use it

  • SWISCO
Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources reviewed; several snippets were truncated, so quotes are partial.

Enterprise-only AI code assistant: excellent privacy story, but individuals are being pushed out.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources reviewed; several snippets were truncated, so quotes are partial.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. news
  4. official
  5. review
  6. security
  7. official
  8. official
  9. news
  10. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.