shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use The Globe and Mail?

Canada's national newspaper — this URL is its investing/markets watchlist page - theglobeandmail.com

Depends. Low confidence: this is a Canadian newspaper subscription with a markets watchlist page, not a software tool, so product-style review evidence is thin. Buy it if you want Canadian news and markets coverage; skip it if you expected an app, data platform, or free unlimited reading.

Confidence

Low. Based on ~11 public sources; review evidence is thin because this page is a news publisher, not a software product.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usability evidence in sources
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$8.9+/mo

Full digital access

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Weekend intro offer$6.99/week for first 52 weeks

Best for

  • Readers of Canadian politics and business
  • Investors tracking Canadian markets
  • Weekend edition readers
  • Intro-rate subscribers

Not for

  • Anyone shopping for software — it's a newspaper
  • Non-Canadian news needs
  • Readers wanting free, unlimited articles
  • Teams needing shared screeners or integrations

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Intro rate ends after 52 weeks and renews higher — calendar the jump before subscribing

medium

Site has been flagged for showing different prices; verify the final checkout total

low

Multiple digital tiers exist; confirm exactly what your tier unlocks before paying

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Long-standing Canadian national newspaper covering politics, business, and markets
  • Official iOS and Android apps available
  • Markets section includes a personal stock watchlist
  • Publishes a product security page

Cons

  • Most articles sit behind a paywall
  • Promo rate $6.99/week applies only first 52 weeks
  • Publicly flagged for inconsistent pricing ('One ad, two prices')

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/27/2026 - 11 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x6review x2security x2news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $8.9+/mo

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Intro discounts exist; price-display complaints do too
  • Ease of use. No usability evidence in sources
  • Feature depth: 3/5. News site plus markets watchlist; standard features
  • Support quality: 3/5. Published 1-800 support and contact lines
  • Security posture: 3/5. Publishes security page; runs SecureDrop for sources
  • $6.99/wk Intro price First 52 weeks, weekend offer
  • $8.9+/mo Full digital access Listed on subscriptions page
  • Not listed Free tier No evidence of a free plan
  • iOS + Android Mobile apps Official Globe and Mail apps

Pricing

Full digital access

$8.9+/mo

  • Unlimited article access
  • Digital apps included

Weekend intro offer

$6.99/week for first 52 weeks

  • Weekend-focused package
  • Reverts to standard rate after promo

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

review evidence is thin: one Reddit thread calls it a reputable Canadian newspaper, and no substantial app-review text surfaced in the sources.

“The Globe and Mail is a reputable Canadian newspaper”
Reddit, r/SaintMeghanMarkle
Full analysis

Based on ~11 public sources; review evidence is thin because this page is a news publisher, not a software product.

It's a newspaper subscription, not software. Fine for Canadian news; pointless as a tool purchase.

Methodology

Based on ~11 public sources; review evidence is thin because this page is a news publisher, not a software product.

Sources

  1. The Globe and Mail homepagetheglobeandmail.com
    official
  2. Globe and Mail subscriptionssubscriptions.theglobeandmail.com
    official
  3. official
  4. App Store listingapps.apple.com
    official
  5. Google Play listingplay.google.com
    official
  6. Contact Us pagetheglobeandmail.com
    official
  7. news
  8. review
  9. review
  10. Product security pagetheglobeandmail.com
    security
  11. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.