shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Dataminr Review

Depends

Should I use Dataminr?

Dataminr is the leading AI platform for real-time event, threat, and risk intelligence. Trusted by Fortune 50 leaders and over 100 U.S. government agencies, we deliver the instant clarity needed for faster, more informed decisions to protect what matters most. - threatconnect.com

· 1 month ago

Buy only if you run enterprise security operations with six-figure budget for real-time threat intelligence. Small teams and anyone wanting transparent, self-serve pricing should skip it.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources including Gartner, Glassdoor, AWS Marketplace, Vendr, and pricing trackers; product review depth is limited.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usable usability evidence in sources
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Reportedly $20K–$100K+/yr

Enterprise (contract)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Nonprofit free accessFree

Best for

  • Enterprise security operations centers
  • Corporations with physical + cyber risk teams
  • U.S. government agencies
  • NGOs monitoring global events

Not for

  • Small businesses — entry cost reportedly ~$20K/yr
  • Solo analysts wanting simple, cheap alerting
  • Buyers needing transparent self-serve pricing
  • Startups hoping for a freemium trial

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Pricing reportedly ranges $20K–$100K+/yr and requires a sales quote

medium

Free access is limited to qualifying nonprofits — commercial users pay full contract price

medium

Packaged/priced by modules and users; scope creep risk at renewal

low

AWS Marketplace uses contract pricing, not self-serve checkout

Pros and cons

Pros

  • AI detects breaking events across social, news, and cyber sources
  • Trusted by Fortune 50 firms and 100+ U.S. government agencies
  • Integrates with Elastic, AWS, Genetec, and SecurityScorecard
  • Spotted FortiWeb zero-day exploitation in real time
  • Free licenses for qualifying nonprofits

Cons

  • No public pricing; contract-only, reportedly $20K–$100K+/year
  • Employee rating just 3.6/5 on Glassdoor
  • Sales rep rating 2.6/5 on RepVue
  • Built for enterprise ops; overkill for small teams
  • Packaged and priced by modules, total cost opaque

Sources & method

- 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x3security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Reportedly $20K–$100K+/yr

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Quote-based, reportedly $20K–$100K+ per year
  • Ease of use. No usable usability evidence in sources
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Real-time AI across cyber, physical, and news events
  • Support quality: 4/5. GetApp reviewer: customer service 'upto the mark'
  • Security posture: 4/5. No public vulns; government-grade clientele
  • ~$20K+/yr Starting price Third-party estimate; quote-based
  • $1.24B Total funding $4.1B valuation; 2025 rounds
  • 3.6/5 Glassdoor rating Employee reviews, 504 listed
  • Nonprofits only Free tier 3 free licenses, qualifying orgs

Pricing

Enterprise (contract)

Reportedly $20K–$100K+/yr

  • Quote-based, packaged per user/module
  • AWS Marketplace contract pricing available

Nonprofit free access

Free

  • 3 free licenses for qualifying nonprofits
  • Humanitarian response focus

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

product reviews are sparse; a GetApp reviewer praises support while employee ratings sit at 3.6/5.

“Customer service is upto the mark”
GetApp reviewer
“Dataminr helps me monitor threats and ri…”
G2 review (truncated snippet)

Companies that use it

  • ČD-Telematika
  • CyberPeace Institute
  • Buffalo Police Department
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources including Gartner, Glassdoor, AWS Marketplace, Vendr, and pricing trackers; product review depth is limited.

Enterprise AI threat intel; quote-based pricing reportedly $20K–$100K+/yr. Great for big SOCs, overkill for small teams.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources including Gartner, Glassdoor, AWS Marketplace, Vendr, and pricing trackers; product review depth is limited.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. Dataminr homepagedataminr.com
    official
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. news
  6. official
  7. official
  8. news
  9. Product security pagethreatconnect.com
    security
  10. official

Add this review to your site

This check for Dataminr says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.