shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

TiVo Review

Skip

Should I use TiVo?

Not disclosed - tivo.com

· 1 month ago

Only buy if you're a cable customer sold on the classic TiVo interface via Edge for Cable. Everyone else — especially cord cutters — should skip it: the OTA DVR line is discontinued and rivals cost less with no monthly fees.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 18 public sources; some pricing data dates to 2020–2023 and the OTA line is discontinued.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support-quality evidence in sources
  • Security postureNo security page or findings in sources

Pricing

$250 + $7/mo

TiVo Bolt OTA

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees$14.99/mo
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
TiVo Edge for Cable~$449 device
Service plan$14.99/mo or $149.99/yr

Best for

  • Cable subscribers who love the TiVo UI
  • Used-device bargain hunters
  • Homes already owning lifetime-service TiVos

Not for

  • Cord cutters — the OTA line is discontinued
  • Fee-averse buyers — subscriptions required
  • Multi-TV homes facing $179+ per extra Mini
  • DISH or AT&T U-Verse subscribers — incompatible

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Monthly service fee required for guide data: $14.99/mo, $149.99/yr, or big lifetime payment

high

Buying discontinued hardware risks dead guide data and no future support

medium

Minis for extra TVs cost $179–$199 each

medium

Tablo does whole-home OTA for $140 one-time with no subscription

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Interface and auto-skip still rated best in class
  • Great UI for recorded video; fast-forwarding works smoothly
  • Edge for Cable adds 4K and Dolby Vision HDR

Cons

  • OTA DVR line discontinued in February 2024
  • No hard drive included; can't pause live local TV
  • No viewing via web browser or Apple TV
  • Guide data requires $14.99/month or $149.99/year
  • Incompatible with DISH Network and AT&T U-Verse

Sources & method

- 7 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

review x5news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $250 + $7/mo

    Starting price

  • 7

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Monthly fees stack up vs one-time rivals
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Interface long praised as category-best
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Solid recording, but no web or Apple TV
  • Support quality. No support-quality evidence in sources
  • Security posture. No security page or findings in sources
  • $250 Bolt OTA price + $7/mo service, 500GB/75 hrs (2020)
  • $14.99/mo Service fee or $149.99/yr; lifetime option exists
  • Discontinued OTA line status Removed from site Feb 2024
  • $140 Tablo alternative 4-tuner, one-time cost

Pricing

TiVo Bolt OTA

$250 + $7/mo

  • 500GB, 75 hours, two tuners
  • Discounted $7/mo service for OTA

TiVo Edge for Cable

~$449 device

  • 4K UHD, Dolby Vision HDR
  • Product lifetime service bundle included

Service plan

$14.99/mo or $149.99/yr

  • Required for guide data and DVR features
  • All-in lifetime option available

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Users praise the TiVo interface and auto-skip but complain about subscription fees, per-TV hardware costs, and the discontinued OTA hardware.

“TiVo remains the favorite for its interface and auto-skip, but cable company DVRs and Tablo offer lower monthly costs.”
Facebook, TiVo Antenna Streaming group
“TiVo is known for its great user interface when it comes to watching recorded video, and it shows with the Edge.”
Disable My Cable review
“Currently Tablo is the best DVR for recording shows and watching on any TV in the house.”
StreamWise Solutions

Alternatives

Compare TiVo with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on 18 public sources; some pricing data dates to 2020–2023 and the OTA line is discontinued.

TiVo's OTA DVRs are discontinued (2024) and still charge monthly fees. Get a Tablo instead unless you love the old UI.

Methodology

Based on 18 public sources; some pricing data dates to 2020–2023 and the OTA line is discontinued.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. news
  4. news
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review

Cite this review

This check for TiVo says Skip.

Put the badge on a page that cites the review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.