shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use TouchBistro?

iPad-based POS and restaurant management system - touchbistro.com

Depends. Buy if you run a full-service restaurant that wants table-focused iPad POS and will negotiate hardware, payment fees, and contract terms hard. Skip if you want transparent pricing, month-to-month flexibility, or a vendor without recent stability questions.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; exact pricing figures not confirmed in available snippets.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Full-service restaurants
  • Table-service-heavy venues
  • Teams wanting built-in marketing/CRM
  • Buyers who want offline-capable iPad POS

Not for

  • Cafes and food trucks needing simple cheap checkout — get Square
  • Anyone refusing multi-year contracts or opaque payment fees
  • Buyers requiring a financially stable vendor — 2026 coverage raises doubts
  • Cloud-integration-heavy stacks; this is a restaurant-specific walled garden

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Complaints center on fees and long-term contracts — get every cost in writing

medium

A 2026 blog calls the company a 'quiet foreclosure' — check vendor stability

medium

Support criticized in recent Trustpilot reviews despite the 24/7 claim

medium

Guess: hybrid local-first iPad POS — migrating your menu/data out later is rarely trivial

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Praised for ease of use in G2 reviews
  • Strong table management for full-service dining
  • Restaurant-specific extras: reservations, CRM, loyalty, marketing
  • Offers 24/7 customer support
  • New TouchBistro One all-in-one handheld launched Aug 2026

Cons

  • Recent Trustpilot reviews skew 1-star, 'horrible experience' reports
  • Owner on Reddit calls it 'the worst business decision'
  • Third-party reviewers cite fees, complaints and contracts
  • 2026 review headline sums it up: 'Strong Tables, Weak Reviews'
  • BBB complaints on file against TouchBistro USA

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/03/2026 - 10 sources - Runs a vulnerability disclosure program and security hall of fame; no breaches found in sources reviewed.

official x1review x7security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Fee and contract complaints dominate third-party reviews.
  • Ease of use: 4/5. G2 users consistently praise ease of use.
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Tables, reservations, CRM, loyalty, handheld hardware.
  • Support quality: 2/5. 24/7 offered, but Trustpilot reports poor outcomes.
  • Security posture: 3/5. Disclosure program exists; no public incidents found.
  • ~350 Trustpilot reviewers sentiment skews 1-star in recent reviews
  • 108 G2 reviews ease of use consistently praised
  • CAD$150M Funding raised growth round, Nov 2022 (TechCrunch)
  • 9,000+ Restaurants served self-reported, 2017

Pricing

Not disclosed

Security

Runs a vulnerability disclosure program and security hall of fame; no breaches found in sources reviewed.

What users say

Reviews are split: G2 and Capterra users praise ease of use and table management, while Trustpilot and Reddit threads turn sharply negative on billing, support, and contracts.

“Touch Bistro has been the worst business decision of my ...”
Reddit, r/restaurantowners

Alternatives

Compare TouchBistro with each alternative.

  • Square for Restaurants

    Simpler, cheaper, transparent pricing; ideal for cafes and food trucks.

  • Toast

    Cloud-first restaurant POS with a larger ecosystem and reporting.

  • SpotOn

    Direct competitor; its own comparison page attacks TouchBistro's weaknesses.

    TouchBistro vs SpotOn
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; exact pricing figures not confirmed in available snippets.

Solid table-management POS praised for ease of use, but fee, contract and support complaints are loud. Compare Square and Toast first.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; exact pricing figures not confirmed in available snippets.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. news
  8. official
  9. security
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.