shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Texas Parks & Wildlife Department?

TPWD.Texas.gov is the place to find information about Texas state parks, hunting, fishing, licenses, wildlife, Game Wardens, boat registration and more. - tpwd.texas.gov

Depends. Use it if you need Texas hunting/fishing licenses, park passes, or boat registration — TPWD is the sole official issuer, so you have no real alternative. Software shoppers and anyone expecting a SaaS product should look elsewhere; this is a state agency portal, not a tool.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~30 public sources; few evaluate the site as a product — evidence skews to employee reviews, breach coverage, and official pages.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo usable user-experience evidence found
  • Feature depthGovernment site; no comparable feature evidence
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

varies by package

Fishing licenses & packages

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees$3–$10
HardwareNot disclosed
Hunting licenses & permitsvaries
Texas State Parks Passannual fee

Best for

  • Texas hunters and anglers
  • State park visitors and campers
  • Boat owners registering vessels
  • Residents buying licenses or permits

Not for

  • Software buyers — this is a state agency, not a vendor
  • Non-Texans needing official licenses; other states have their own agencies
  • Teams shopping for CRM, analytics, or any SaaS tool — wrong site entirely

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

2026 third-party vendor breach exposed ~3M license holders' driver's license and passport numbers.

medium

Tags and endorsements add $3–$10 each on top of base license prices.

low

External security scan of.gov/security reported no security page found.

low

Nearly all public reviews are employee reviews; actual service-quality feedback is scarce.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Official single portal for licenses, park passes, and boat registration
  • Official Texas Outdoor Annual mobile app for hunting and fishing regulations
  • Published toll-free number and formal complaint process
  • Annual Texas State Parks Pass available for frequent visitors

Cons

  • Not a software product — no trial, contract, or vendor relationship
  • 2026 vendor breach exposed ~3M license holders' personal data
  • State park entry charged per visit; pass only pays off for regulars

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/02/2026 - 12 sources - 2026 third-party vendor breach affected ~3M hunting/fishing license holders; TPWD posted an incident notice tied to May 13, 2026.

official x6review x2security x3news x1
  • Third-party vendor data breach (2026), A vendor incident disclosed June 2026 exposed personal data of roughly 3 million Texas hunting and fishing license holders, reportedly including driver's license and passport numbers. TPWD published a Notification of Data Security Incident referencing May 13, 2026.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • varies by package

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Low fees; $3–$10 tags, bundled license packages
  • Ease of use. No usable user-experience evidence found
  • Feature depth. Government site; no comparable feature evidence
  • Support quality: 3/5. Toll-free line and complaint process published
  • Security posture: 2/5. 2026 vendor breach exposed ~3M records
  • 173 Glassdoor reviews employee reviews, not customer reviews
  • $3–$10 Tag & endorsement fees on top of base license packages
  • ~3M Breach exposure license holders, 2026 vendor incident
  • 1963 Founded per TPWD history publication (1963–2003)

Pricing

Fishing licenses & packages

varies by package

  • Resident and non-resident options
  • Tags and endorsements cost extra

Hunting licenses & permits

varies

  • Resident and non-resident licenses
  • Special permits separate

Texas State Parks Pass

annual fee

  • Park entry for frequent visitors

Security

2026 third-party vendor breach affected ~3M hunting/fishing license holders; TPWD posted an incident notice tied to May 13, 2026.

  • Third-party vendor data breach (2026)A vendor incident disclosed June 2026 exposed personal data of roughly 3 million Texas hunting and fishing license holders, reportedly including driver's license and passport numbers. TPWD published a Notification of Data Security Incident referencing May 13, 2026.²

What users say

feedback is almost entirely employee reviews on Glassdoor and Indeed plus hunting/angling forum chatter, not customer reviews of the site itself.

Full analysis

Based on ~30 public sources; few evaluate the site as a product — evidence skews to employee reviews, breach coverage, and official pages.

State agency portal, not software. Fine for Texas licenses, parks, boats — but a 2026 vendor breach hit ~3M license holders.

Methodology

Based on ~30 public sources; few evaluate the site as a product — evidence skews to employee reviews, breach coverage, and official pages.

Sources

  1. official
  2. security
  3. security
  4. security
  5. news
  6. official
  7. official
  8. Park Passestpwd.texas.gov
    official
  9. Compact with Texanstpwd.texas.gov
    official
  10. official
  11. review
  12. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.