shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Home — TreasuryDirect?

Official U.S. Treasury portal for buying savings bonds and Treasury securities directly - treasurydirect.gov

Depends. Use TreasuryDirect if you want I bonds or EE savings bonds — it is the only place to buy electronic I bonds directly. For other Treasuries or everyday investing, a brokerage account is easier and shows everything in one place.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~30 public sources; user feedback comes from forum and social posts, not structured product reviews.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

TreasuryDirect account

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • I bond and EE savings bond buyers
  • DIY T-bill ladder builders
  • US citizens with a linked bank account
  • Parents gifting bonds to kids

Not for

  • Non-US residents — account opening is difficult
  • Brokerage users wanting one dashboard for all holdings
  • Anyone needing polished UX and quick account changes
  • Short-term cash parking — high-yield savings is simpler

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Changing your linked bank account or recovering access is reported as slow and painful

medium

Login system overhaul in 2026 may add authentication friction for existing users

low

Lost or undelivered paper savings bonds require a separate claims search to recover

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Official US government site for buying, redeeming, and managing savings bonds
  • Only place to buy electronic I bonds and EE bonds directly
  • Free to use with no broker commissions or account fees
  • Cited by financial advisors and state representatives as a trusted constituent resource
  • Community comparisons cite ~4.62% on 13-week T-bills

Cons

  • Users report routine changes, like bank switches, are 'a royal pain'
  • Controversial new login system rollout annoyed users
  • Site scan found no dedicated security page
  • Non-US citizens face extra hurdles buying Treasury bonds

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4review x2security x3news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Free direct access, no commissions
  • Ease of use: 2/5. Users report clunky workflows
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Full bond menu, no brokerage tools
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. 71/100 trust scan; login rollout contested
  • 71/100 Trust score Gridinsoft URL scan
  • $0 Cost No fees or account minimums
  • $25 Minimum purchase EE and I savings bonds
  • $10,000/yr I bond limit Electronic purchases, per person

Pricing

TreasuryDirect account

$0

  • Buy savings bonds and marketable Treasuries at auction
  • No account, purchase, or maintenance fees
  • Requires a linked personal US bank account

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Forum and social users value fee-free direct bond buying but consistently complain about clunky site workflows and login changes.

“Treasury Direct is a royal pain.”
Facebook post
“Better still is to buy ibonds and t-bills direct from...”
Talk of The Villages forum
“Looking to see if anyone knows where I should start”
Facebook group (lost savings bonds)

Alternatives

Compare Home — TreasuryDirect with each alternative.

  • Fidelity

    Buy Treasuries fee-free alongside your other investments

  • Charles Schwab

    Brokerage Treasuries with a better interface and consolidated statements

  • Marcus by Goldman Sachs

    High-yield savings for simple, liquid cash without bond complexity

Full analysis

Based on ~30 public sources; user feedback comes from forum and social posts, not structured product reviews.

Free official US Treasury portal — only place to buy I bonds, but clunky UX. Other Treasuries? A brokerage is easier.

Methodology

Based on ~30 public sources; user feedback comes from forum and social posts, not structured product reviews.

Sources

  1. TreasuryDirecttreasurydirect.gov
    official
  2. official
  3. Security pagetreasurydirect.gov
    official
  4. review
  5. news
  6. security
  7. security
  8. security
  9. review
  10. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.