shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use TryOtter?

An all-in-one restaurant POS built for multichannel ordering - tryotter.com

Depends. Buy if you run a delivery-heavy, multi-location restaurant drowning in tablets and third-party delivery apps — centralizing those orders is what Otter is built for. Skip it if you're a small single-location shop: support complaints are loud and Square or Toast is simpler and cheaper.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources: Trustpilot, Reddit, G2, case studies, and vendor docs. No aggregate Trustpilot rating available in evidence.

Ratings

  • Value for moneyNo direct value-perception evidence found
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$79/mo

Starter (US)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Standard$30/mo
Otter Lite (AU)$29/mo

Best for

  • Multi-location restaurants on many delivery apps
  • Delivery-heavy takeout operations
  • Chains centralizing menus and reporting
  • Quick-service spots adding kiosks

Not for

  • Single-location cafés wanting a cheap, simple POS
  • Anyone who needs responsive customer support
  • Shops wanting a free tier or self-serve pricing
  • Teams without time to migrate menus to a new POS

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Support quality is the dominant complaint across Reddit and review sites

medium

Order-manager plans (~$29–30/mo) aren't full POS; Starter bundle runs $79/mo

medium

Hardware (tablets, printers) costs extra beyond software plans

medium

Service agreements include termination clauses — check exit terms before signing

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Aggregates third-party delivery orders into one multichannel POS
  • Integrates with Toast, Lightspeed and other major POS platforms
  • Hardware bundles: tablets, printers, kiosks sold alongside software
  • Some small operators love it: 'I also LOVE tryOtter's POS'
  • Enterprise case studies include Hooters and United Pacific

Cons

  • Users report horrible customer service
  • Independent review lists customer-service complaints among its cons
  • Skepticism about delivery-boosting claims on restaurateur forums
  • Detailed plan pricing requires contacting sales

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 16 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x7review x5security x1news x3

Key stats

  • Ease of use: 4/5

    Rating

  • $79/mo

    Starting price

  • 16

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money. No direct value-perception evidence found
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Some small operators genuinely love the POS
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Multichannel POS, kiosk, inventory, many integrations
  • Support quality: 2/5. Repeated 'horrible service' complaints from users
  • Security posture: 3/5. Public security page; no known issues
  • $79/mo Starting price US Starter POS bundle; hardware extra
  • 2016 Founded Per G2 seller profile
  • 11 G2 reviews Seller profile reviews
  • 2M+ Orders milestone With Orbital Kitchens, Dec 2024

Pricing

Starter (US)

$79/mo

  • POS bundle for restaurants
  • Hardware sold separately

Standard

$30/mo

  • Order management
  • Plus third-party fees

Otter Lite (AU)

$29/mo

  • Order Manager

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Feedback is split: some small operators love the POS, while many reviewers and Redditors warn about poor support.

“STAY AWAY FROM TryOtter. Horrible service, bad serv”
Reddit, r/restaurateur
“I also LOVE tryOtter's POS. I think it's the POS of”
Reddit, r/smallbusiness
“Like the title question asks. Is it too good to be true?”
Reddit, r/restaurateur

Companies that use it

  • Hooters10
  • United Pacific13
  • Orbital Kitchens14
  • Weekends Cafe
  • Bred Hot Chicken
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources: Trustpilot, Reddit, G2, case studies, and vendor docs. No aggregate Trustpilot rating available in evidence.

Multichannel delivery aggregation done well, but support complaints are loud — fits multi-location restaurants, not simple shops.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources: Trustpilot, Reddit, G2, case studies, and vendor docs. No aggregate Trustpilot rating available in evidence.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. official
  7. POS Pricing Planstryotter.com
    official
  8. Otter Plan Packages & Hardwarehelpdesk.tryotter.com
    official
  9. official
  10. official
  11. Otter + Toast Integration Guidehelpdesk.tryotter.com
    official
  12. official
  13. news
  14. news
  15. Otter — Crunchbasecrunchbase.com
    news
  16. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.