shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Tsbvi?

Skip to main content - tsbvi.edu

Depends. This is not a product: TSBVI is Texas's state-run K-12 school and statewide outreach center for blind and visually impaired students. Texas families and school districts may genuinely benefit; anyone shopping for software should move on.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 25+ public sources. This URL is a Texas state school website, not a software product, so product-style ratings and pricing do not apply.

Ratings

  • Value for moneyNot a paid product; no pricing data
  • Ease of useN/A — organization, not software
  • Feature depthN/A — school programs, not features
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

K-12 enrollment

State/district funded; no public price list

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Professional developmentPer-session pricing on registration site

Best for

  • Texas families of blind/low-vision students
  • Districts placing students short-term
  • TVIs needing statewide training
  • Parents seeking VI evaluations

Not for

  • Software buyers — this is a school, not a tool
  • Guess: out-of-state families (Texas-focused admissions)
  • Anyone comparing SaaS pricing or tiers
  • Buyers wanting self-serve signup

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Enrollment requires ARD (Admission, Review, Dismissal) process — not self-serve signup

low

PD registration lists an 'Adjusted Pricing Statement' — confirm session fees before booking

low

Public complaint policy states each party pays its own costs

Pros and cons

Pros

  • State's only dedicated public school for blind/visually impaired students, per annual report
  • Statewide outreach: free PD library, Coffee Hours, educator training
  • District guide supports placements and shared services for Texas districts
  • Documented safety infrastructure: security personnel, emergency audits, dedicated safety manager

Cons

  • Lost $1.5M state funding after a 2019 accounting error
  • No public pricing; per-student costs handled via district/state agreements
  • Admission runs through ARD process — not open enrollment
  • Feedback limited to employee reviews; no independent parent ratings

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/27/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x6review x3security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Support quality: 4/5

    Rating

  • State/district funded; no public price list

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money. Not a paid product; no pricing data
  • Ease of use. N/A — organization, not software
  • Feature depth. N/A — school programs, not features
  • Support quality: 4/5. Help desk, statewide outreach, PD library documented
  • Security posture: 4/5. Documented policies, security staff; no incidents found
  • Public school Org type Texas state agency No. 771 (Leg. Budget Board)
  • $1.5M Funding lost (2019) Accounting error, per KXAN
  • Statewide Scope Austin campus + outreach programs

Pricing

K-12 enrollment

State/district funded; no public price list

  • Admission via ARD process
  • Costs shared between state and districts

Professional development

Per-session pricing on registration site

  • Statewide for TVIs and educators
  • 'Adjusted Pricing Statement' applies

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

feedback is sparse — mostly employee reviews on Indeed and Glassdoor plus parent testimonials TSBVI publishes itself; no independent ratings.

Companies that use it

  • 4ATX Foundation (partner — built campus soccer pitch)12
  • ABCTX (funder of TSBVI programs)
  • Texas School for the Deaf (collaborative events)
Full analysis

Based on 25+ public sources. This URL is a Texas state school website, not a software product, so product-style ratings and pricing do not apply.

Not software — TSBVI is Texas's public school for blind/visually impaired students. Fit for families & districts, not tool buyers.

Methodology

Based on 25+ public sources. This URL is a Texas state school website, not a software product, so product-style ratings and pricing do not apply.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. news
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. official
  10. security
  11. official
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.