shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Tuya Global AIoT Platform?

Global AIoT cloud ecosystem for building and managing smart devices at scale (NYSE: TUYA, HKEX: 2391). - tuya.com

Depends. Buy if you are a hardware brand or manufacturer shipping smart devices at scale and can absorb enterprise cloud fees. Everyone else — hobbyists, one-device startups, local-control fans — should look elsewhere.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~25 public sources; headline pricing comes from user reports and a 2023 pricing PDF, not a current official price list.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo direct support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free tier

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
IoT Core / Flagship$25,000/yr

Best for

  • Hardware brands shipping devices at scale
  • Manufacturers wanting white-label IoT apps
  • Teams wanting a huge off-the-shelf device ecosystem
  • Enterprises wanting private IoT deployment

Not for

  • Hobbyists and home-automation tinkerers
  • Startups prototyping a single device
  • Teams needing local control without cloud dependency
  • Anyone without a $25k/yr cloud budget

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

$25,000/yr IoT Core bill can hit after trial — budget for it before building on Tuya cloud

medium

Free developer tier has limits; adding devices reportedly pushes users into paid plans

medium

Devices lean on Tuya cloud; communities build LocalTuya and local alternatives to escape fees

medium

Trustpilot reviewers report disappointment and severe frustration with the consumer experience

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Massive device ecosystem: 1.2M+ SKUs run on Tuya cloud
  • Full stack: IoT PaaS, smart solutions, and SaaS in one platform
  • Consumer app described as user-friendly with comprehensive features
  • Offers private smart-platform deployment and published GDPR compliance program
  • LLM-agnostic AI approach reduces model vendor dependency

Cons

  • IoT Core plan reportedly costs $25,000/year after trial ends
  • Deep cloud dependency; users hunt for local-control workarounds
  • Consumer Trustpilot reviews report severe frustration and disappointment
  • Researchers raised concerns over device data flowing to China

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/04/2026 - 15 sources - Official Trust Center with GDPR claims, but researchers have published device exploits and data-flow concerns.

official x4review x6security x3news x2
  • Wi-Fi credential leak in Tuya device firmware, Researcher discovered a Wi-Fi credential leak and published it as a CVE after initial rejection.
  • CSRF vulnerability in Tuya app, Tuya's own security response center disclosed a vulnerability usable by malicious actors for CSRF attacks.
  • Light jailbreaking exploit, 2022 research demonstrated an exploitation chain against Tuya IoT devices.
  • Data-flow and control concerns, Dark Cubed research, reported by VOA, raised concerns about devices controlled via servers in China.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 15

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Users report $25k/yr bill shock after trial
  • Ease of use: 3/5. App praised, but consumer frustration reported
  • Feature depth: 4/5. PaaS, SaaS, 1.2M SKUs, LLM tools
  • Support quality. No direct support evidence found
  • Security posture: 2/5. Credential leaks, CSRF fix, jailbreak exploit documented
  • $25,000/yr Cloud plan (reported) IoT Core plan, per Reddit users
  • Yes Free tier limited; $1,500 usage allowance cited in pricing PDF
  • 1.2M+ Device SKUs on platform per YesPress
  • NYSE: TUYA Listed also HKEX: 2391

Pricing

Free tier

$0

  • Tuya Smart app free for everyday device control
  • Developer platform free tier with usage limits
  • Pricing PDF cites a $1,500 usage allowance

IoT Core / Flagship

$25,000/yr

  • Price reported by Reddit and Home Assistant users after trial
  • Full cloud development access

Security

Official Trust Center with GDPR claims, but researchers have published device exploits and data-flow concerns.

  • Wi-Fi credential leak in Tuya device firmwareResearcher discovered a Wi-Fi credential leak and published it as a CVE after initial rejection.14
  • CSRF vulnerability in Tuya appTuya's own security response center disclosed a vulnerability usable by malicious actors for CSRF attacks.15
  • Light jailbreaking exploit2022 research demonstrated an exploitation chain against Tuya IoT devices.13
  • Data-flow and control concernsDark Cubed research, reported by VOA, raised concerns about devices controlled via servers in China.11

What users say

Users like the consumer app but are vocal about the $25,000/yr cloud fee, cloud lock-in, and disappointment in consumer reviews.

“Tuya charges $25,000US after trial expires. IoT core plan is $25,000US per annum!”
Reddit, r/homeassistant
“Consumers find product to be a complete disappointment, reporting severe frustration with use”
Trustpilot reviewer summary
“The Tuya Smart app is user-friendly and offers a comprehensive suite of features”
SaaShub comparison

Alternatives

Compare Tuya Global AIoT Platform with each alternative.

  • AWS IoT Core

    Enterprise IoT cloud with more DIY control, no consumer app ecosystem.

  • Ayla IoT Platform

    Rival enterprise IoT PaaS for connected products.

  • Blynk

    Lighter IoT cloud for makers and small device projects.

  • Home Assistant with LocalTuya

    Local control of Tuya devices without the cloud fees.

Companies that use it

  • MOBI Technologies

Companies that could

  • Xiaomi Uses MIJIA (own smart home ecosystem) instead
  • Huawei Uses Huawei HiLink instead
  • ECOVACS⁹ Uses ECOVACS HOME app instead
Full analysis

Based on ~25 public sources; headline pricing comes from user reports and a 2023 pricing PDF, not a current official price list.

Built for hardware brands shipping smart devices at scale. Makers and small projects: cloud bills can hit $25k/yr with real lock-in.

Methodology

Based on ~25 public sources; headline pricing comes from user reports and a 2023 pricing PDF, not a current official price list.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. news
  12. news
  13. security
  14. security
  15. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.