shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Ultimate Guitar: Chords & Tabs Review

Worth it

Should I use Ultimate Guitar: Chords & Tabs?

Your #1 source for chords, guitar tabs, bass tabs, ukulele chords, guitar pro and power tabs — 2M+ tabs. - ultimate-guitar.com

· 16 hours ago

Buy if you play guitar, bass, or ukulele and want the largest free tab library available; it is the de facto standard. Pay for Pro only if you need offline access and Practice Mode — otherwise the free tier covers casual learning.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14 public sources; many are directory snippets, plus forum threads and store listings.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
ProSubscription, price not disclosed in sources

Best for

  • Beginner guitarists learning songs
  • Bass and ukulele players
  • Pro subscribers practicing offline
  • Casual players wanting free chords

Not for

  • Pros needing note-accurate licensed sheet music
  • Structured-lesson seekers — a course beats a tab dump
  • Players who refuse to pay for offline access
  • Print-first performers — SongbookPro handles setlists better

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Offline access and Practice Mode are Pro-only; free tier stays browser-bound.

low

Frequent 77%-off promotions mean the list price is rarely the real price.

low

No official security page; vetting relies on third-party trust scores.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • World's largest catalog: 1M+ songs, 2M+ tabs
  • Free chords and tabs for guitar, bass, ukulele
  • Fully-licensed tabs and lyrics catalog
  • Pro adds Practice Mode and offline access
  • 4.6/5 App Store; #4 music app on Google Play

Cons

  • Offline access and Practice Mode locked behind Pro subscription
  • Android rating trails iOS: 4.18 vs 4.6
  • No public security page; only third-party trust scores
  • Constant discount promos make list pricing feel inconsistent

Sources & method

- 10 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed; 95/100 trust score from Gridinsoft, no official security page.

official x3review x4security x2news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Huge free tier; Pro sold with deep discounts
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Search engine over 2M tabs; solid app ratings
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Practice Mode, offline, Guitar Pro tabs, licensed catalog
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. 95/100 third-party trust; no security page
  • 4.6/5 App Store rating 29 ratings, Apple App Store
  • 4.18/5 Google Play rating Ranked #4 in music & audio
  • 2M+ tabs Catalog size 1M+ songs, guitar/bass/ukulele
  • Yes Free tier Free chords and tabs; Pro optional

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Chords, tabs, lyrics for 1M+ songs
  • Tab search engine
  • Forums and lessons content

Pro

Not disclosed

  • Offline access to favorites
  • Practice Mode
  • Fully-licensed catalog

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed; 95/100 trust score from Gridinsoft, no official security page.

What users say

Forum players describe the Pro subscription as generally enjoyable, and app-store ratings sit between 4.2 and 4.6.

“I was subscribed to Ultimate Guitar's Pro option and generally enjoyed the product.”
Acoustic Guitar Forum

Alternatives

Compare Ultimate Guitar: Chords & Tabs with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on 14 public sources; many are directory snippets, plus forum threads and store listings.

The default tab site for guitarists: 2M+ free tabs; pay only for offline access and Practice Mode.

Methodology

Based on 14 public sources; many are directory snippets, plus forum threads and store listings.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. Ultimate Guitar homepageultimate-guitar.com
    official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. security
  8. security
  9. news
  10. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.