shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Ultimate Member?

User Profile & Membership WordPress Plugin - ultimatemember.com

Depends. Free core suits hobby communities and simple member directories on low-stakes WordPress sites. Paid membership businesses or anyone holding member data should look elsewhere given the exploited-CVE history.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources: official pages, WordPress.org support forums, and security databases (2020-2026).

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Standard$276/year

Best for

  • WordPress community sites with user profiles
  • Free-tier hobby membership sites
  • Member directories for small organizations
  • Owners who patch plugins same-day

Not for

  • Paid membership businesses — security track record is disqualifying
  • Non-technical owners wanting set-and-forget
  • Anyone who won't patch within hours of CVE alerts
  • Teams needing SLA-backed vendor support

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

CVE-2023-3460 auth bypass was actively exploited as a zero-day; patch fast or get hacked

medium

Standard plan is $276/year and extension costs stack if bought individually

medium

Support runs on forums; threads show unresolved login and breakage complaints

medium

Shortcode-driven WordPress lock-in makes migrating to another membership platform painful

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free core: profiles, registration, login, member directories
  • Large extension ecosystem: reviews, notifications, paid content
  • Purpose-built for WordPress communities and member directories
  • Connects to automation tools like OttoKit

Cons

  • Repeated CVEs, including actively exploited authentication bypass
  • Users report plugin failing outright on newer WordPress versions
  • Users report sessions not persisting
  • Key features locked behind paid extensions; pricing criticized
  • Full functionality requires the $276/year Standard bundle

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 14 sources - Poor: six-plus CVEs from 2022-2026, including an actively exploited authentication bypass (CVE-2023-3460).

official x3review x6security x5
  • CVE-2023-3460: authentication bypass, exploited in the wild, Singapore's CSA issued an alert advising urgent patching of the zero-day.
  • CVE-2026-4248: improper authorization / access control, Access-control flaw disclosed March 2026.
  • CVE-2022-3384: code injection, Code injection vulnerability rated CVSS 7.2.
  • CVE-2024-12276, Plugin vulnerability listed on NIST NVD, February 2025.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Free core strong; extension bundle costly
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Users report setup and login failures
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Profiles, directories, paid content, big extension catalog
  • Support quality: 2/5. Forum-based; threads show unresolved issues
  • Security posture: 1/5. Multiple CVEs, including actively exploited auth bypass
  • $276/yr Starting price Standard plan
  • Yes Free tier Core plugin on WordPress.org
  • 6+ Known CVEs 2022-2026, incl. exploited auth bypass

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Core profiles, registration, login
  • Member directories
  • WordPress.org plugin

Standard

$276/year

  • Bundle of paid extensions
  • Annual license

Security

Poor: six-plus CVEs from 2022-2026, including an actively exploited authentication bypass (CVE-2023-3460).

  • CVE-2023-3460: authentication bypass, exploited in the wildSingapore's CSA issued an alert advising urgent patching of the zero-day.⁵
  • CVE-2026-4248: improper authorization / access controlAccess-control flaw disclosed March 2026.⁸
  • CVE-2022-3384: code injectionCode injection vulnerability rated CVSS 7.2.
  • CVE-2024-12276Plugin vulnerability listed on NIST NVD, February 2025.⁷

Companies that use it

  • Decathlon Capital
  • FoundersClub
  • Americas Real Deal
  • Fund Society
  • ICAR-CRRI
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources: official pages, WordPress.org support forums, and security databases (2020-2026).

Free core fine for simple profiles; exploited-CVE history and $276/yr extensions make it risky for paid memberships.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources: official pages, WordPress.org support forums, and security databases (2020-2026).

Sources

  1. official
  2. Ultimate Member Pricingultimatemember.com
    official
  3. official
  4. security
  5. security
  6. security
  7. security
  8. security
  9. review
  10. review
  11. Extensions vs pricewordpress.org
    review
  12. review
  13. review
  14. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.