shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

TeamUpdraft (UpdraftPlus) Review

Depends

Should I use TeamUpdraft (UpdraftPlus)?

UpdraftPlus is the world's leading WordPress backup, restore & migration plugin. Used on millions of WP sites, you can backup with confidence. - updraftplus.com

· 1 month ago

Buy if you run a WordPress site and will apply security updates within days of release — it's the cheapest credible, widely proven backup option. Do not treat it as set-and-forget: the June 2026 authentication-bypass CVE punishes stale installs.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~30 public sources; several are vendor-owned and review snippets were truncated.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes

Best for

  • Freelancers managing client sites
  • WordPress agencies
  • Multi-site owners
  • Budget-conscious WordPress owners

Not for

  • Non-WordPress sites — this is WordPress-only
  • Anyone who won't update plugins within days of security releases
  • Teams wanting managed, host-level backups with zero plugin maintenance (Guess)
  • Enterprises needing independently audited vendor security (Guess)

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Outdated installs are exposed: the June 2026 auth bypass gives attackers access if unpatched

medium

Paid plans are subscriptions with a 14-day money-back guarantee, not a free trial

medium

Add-on lineup changed after shop migration; some purchased add-ons no longer exist

low

Support and comparison claims are self-reported on vendor blog (84 of 93 resolved)

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Market-leading WordPress backup plugin, used on millions of sites
  • Free version available on
  • Handles backup, restore, migration, and multisite
  • 14-day money-back guarantee on paid plugins
  • Suite covers optimization, security, and central management too

Cons

  • Critical unauthenticated authentication-bypass CVE disclosed June 2026
  • Independent analysis counts 17 historical vulnerabilities
  • Some previously sold add-ons discontinued after shop migration
  • Vendor-hosted review pages; little independent rating evidence reviewed

Sources & method

- 10 sources - Active risk: critical authentication-bypass CVE disclosed June 2026 and since patched — outdated installs are exposed.

official x2review x2security x4news x2
  • CVE-2026-10795 — unauthenticated authentication bypass, Disclosed by Wordfence (June 10, 2026) and SentinelOne (June 11, 2026) affecting UpdraftPlus/UpdraftCentral; vendor issued a fix — confirm you run the patched version.
  • February 2022 security release (1.22.3 free / 2.22.3 premium), Earlier security release required for both free and premium versions.
  • Pattern of repeated vulnerabilities, Independent analysis uses 17 UpdraftPlus vulnerabilities as a WordPress plugin-security case study.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Called 'cheapest credible option' by third-party comparison
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Reviews describe it as easy to use
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Backup, migration, multisite, staging, central management
  • Support quality: 3/5. 84 of 93 issues resolved, but self-reported
  • Security posture: 2/5. Critical 2026 auth-bypass CVE; long vulnerability history
  • Millions Sites protected WordPress sites, per vendor
  • Yes Free tier Free version listed on WordPress.org
  • 35 employees Company size Per Built In profile
  • Bootstrapped Funding Self-funded, per Uplers

Pricing

Free tier: Yes

Security

Active risk: critical authentication-bypass CVE disclosed June 2026 and since patched — outdated installs are exposed.

  • CVE-2026-10795 — unauthenticated authentication bypassDisclosed by Wordfence (June 10, 2026) and SentinelOne (June 11, 2026) affecting UpdraftPlus/UpdraftCentral; vendor issued a fix — confirm you run the patched version.⁴
  • February 2022 security release (1.22.3 free / 2.22.3 premium)Earlier security release required for both free and premium versions.
  • Pattern of repeated vulnerabilitiesIndependent analysis uses 17 UpdraftPlus vulnerabilities as a WordPress plugin-security case study.10

What users say

Reddit users vouch the plugins work as advertised, but reviewed sources contain truncated snippets and vendor-curated testimonials.

“I use one of their plugins and they offer a”
Reddit, r/Wordpress
“I regularly use it to clear my post r”
TeamUpdraft WP-Optimize reviews page
Full analysis

Based on ~30 public sources; several are vendor-owned and review snippets were truncated.

Proven, cheap WordPress backup standard — but patch fast: critical auth-bypass CVE hit June 2026.

Methodology

Based on ~30 public sources; several are vendor-owned and review snippets were truncated.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. review
  4. security
  5. security
  6. security
  7. review
  8. news
  9. news
  10. security

Add this review to your site

This check for TeamUpdraft (UpdraftPlus) says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.