shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Upgrade?

Personal loans made through partner banks — loans, cards, and banking in one platform - upgrade.com

Depends. A reasonable fit if you're a fair-credit consumer wanting a fast unsecured loan up to $50,000 and you compare fees against credit unions first. Skip it if you have excellent credit, need large borrowing, or were looking for software — this is consumer lending, not a tool.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 12 usable public sources; many search results were irrelevant homonyms (a 2018 film, hardware/CVE upgrades) and were excluded. Snippets were truncated, so rating scores and APRs could not be verified.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Personal loans

Varies by credit profile; capped at $50,000 — APR not shown in reviewed sources

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Fair-credit borrowers needing fast unsecured cash
  • Debt consolidation up to $50,000
  • Consumers wanting loans, cards, and banking in one app

Not for

  • Excellent-credit borrowers — Guess: prime lenders and credit unions undercut its rates
  • Businesses shopping for software — this is consumer lending, not a tool
  • Borrowers needing more than $50,000
  • Anyone unwilling to absorb loan fees — reviews center heavily on rates and fees

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Rates and fees vary by credit profile; 2026 reviews focus on loan details — verify your full APR before signing.

medium

46+ pages of BBB complaints — read common grievances before applying.

medium

Loans come from partner banks — confirm who actually services your loan.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Personal loans up to $50,000, applied for online.
  • One platform for loans, cards, and banking.
  • Long review trail: 1,294 WalletHub user ratings.
  • Users describe the service as legit.

Cons

  • Extensive BBB complaint history: 46+ pages logged.
  • Loans issued through third-party bank partners, not Upgrade directly.
  • Rates and fees draw heavy scrutiny in 2026 reviews.

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/27/2026 - 12 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x2review x5security x1news x4

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Varies by credit profile; capped at $50,000 — APR not shown in reviewed sources

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Fees flagged in 2026 reviews; compare APRs elsewhere first.
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Users cite fast processing time.
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Loans, cards, banking; consumer lending scope only.
  • Support quality: 2/5. 46+ pages of BBB complaints logged.
  • Security posture: 3/5. Publishes security page; no public incidents found.
  • 1,294 WalletHub ratings User reviews of Upgrade loans
  • $50,000 Max personal loan Unsecured personal loans
  • 30 G2 reviews On Upgrade's G2 seller page
  • 46+ pages BBB complaints Complaint log still active

Pricing

Personal loans

Varies by credit profile; capped at $50,000 — APR not shown in reviewed sources

  • Loan amounts up to $50,000
  • Cards and banking also offered

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

WalletHub reviewers call Upgrade legit with quick processing, but the BBB complaint log runs 46+ pages long.

“Upgrade is legit because”
WalletHub user ratings page
Full analysis

Based on 12 usable public sources; many search results were irrelevant homonyms (a 2018 film, hardware/CVE upgrades) and were excluded. Snippets were truncated, so rating scores and APRs could not be verified.

Consumer lender: loans to $50k, cards, banking. Fine for fair credit; pricier than credit unions; long BBB complaint log.

Methodology

Based on 12 usable public sources; many search results were irrelevant homonyms (a 2018 film, hardware/CVE upgrades) and were excluded. Snippets were truncated, so rating scores and APRs could not be verified.

Sources

  1. news
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. security
  10. news
  11. news
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.