shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use UpToDate?

Evidence-based clinical decision support from Wolters Kluwer - uptodate.com

Depends. Buy if you're a practicing clinician without institutional access and can absorb ~$580/yr. Skip entirely if you're not a medical professional or your hospital already provides logins.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 14 public sources; many snippets truncated, pricing partly user-reported.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

~$580/yr (user-reported)

Individual clinician

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
Residents/students/fellowsDiscounted via program
Hospitals & groupsCustom quote

Best for

  • Practicing physicians, NPs, PAs
  • Residents & students via programs
  • Hospitals & health systems
  • Point-of-care clinical questions

Not for

  • Non-clinicians — this is physician-grade reference, not consumer health advice
  • Anyone whose hospital or university already provides access
  • Casual health questioners — free web resources suffice
  • Cost-sensitive solo clinicians without CME or employer reimbursement

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Institutional access can vanish — some universities dropped subscriptions, forcing personal payment

medium

Individual plan runs ~$580/yr out-of-pocket per user reports

low

Residents, students, fellows may qualify for discounted or free access — check first

low

Exact pricing isn't on marketing pages; requires store or customer service

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Evidence-graded, continuously updated reference users call their go-to
  • 4.8/5 on G2
  • Hospital studies link usage to better care and performance
  • Heavily used across medicine per clinician communities
  • New Expert AI adds conversational point-of-care answers

Cons

  • ~$580/yr individual cost; users publicly question the price
  • Academic institutions are cutting access over cost
  • No free tier for practicing clinicians
  • Some emergency medicine users find specialty coverage weaker

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/05/2026 - 9 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x1review x5security x1news x2

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • ~$580/yr (user-reported)

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Clinicians love it; $580/yr draws pushback
  • Ease of use: 5/5. Designed for fast bedside lookup; users call it go-to
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Deep evidence-graded topics plus new Expert AI
  • Support quality. No support evidence in sources
  • Security posture: 4/5. Wolters Kluwer enterprise vendor; no product CVEs found
  • 4.8/5 G2 rating 22 reviews
  • ~$580/yr Individual price user-reported out-of-pocket cost
  • No Free tier subscription required; trainee discounts exist
  • 30+ years In market celebrated 30 years in 2022

Pricing

Individual clinician

~$580/yr (user-reported)

  • Full topic library and mobile app
  • CME credits

Residents/students/fellows

Discounted via program

  • Trainee or institutional access
  • CME credits

Hospitals & groups

Not disclosed

  • Site licenses
  • Admin and usage analytics

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Clinicians overwhelmingly treat UpToDate as their go-to point-of-care reference, with the ~$580 price the main complaint.

“Does anyone pay $580 out-of-pocket for UpToDate?”
Reddit, r/PMHNP
“UpToDate is heavily used”
Reddit, r/medicine
“Academic institutions losing UpToDate access.”
Reddit, r/hospitalist

Companies that use it

  • Cook Children's
  • Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center
Full analysis

Based on 14 public sources; many snippets truncated, pricing partly user-reported.

The clinician favorite for point-of-care answers — worth ~$580/yr if you practice medicine; useless if you don't.

Methodology

Based on 14 public sources; many snippets truncated, pricing partly user-reported.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. official
  5. security
  6. news
  7. news
  8. review
  9. review

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.