shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Uptrace?

Cut observability costs by 80%. OpenTelemetry-native tracing, metrics, and logs with predictable pricing. Self-host free or use Uptrace Cloud. - uptrace.dev

Depends. Buy for OpenTelemetry-standard engineering teams that can self-host or accept usage-based cloud pricing — the cost math versus Datadog is credible. Skip if you need a funded vendor with SLAs, long cloud retention, or a turnkey zero-ops product.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~40 public sources; many are SEO comparison posts, so independent review depth is limited.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Self-hosted

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Uptrace CloudUsage-based
On-PremisesFrom $1,000 minimum fee

Best for

  • OpenTelemetry-standard engineering teams
  • Cost-sensitive teams fleeing Datadog bills
  • Self-hosters comfortable running ClickHouse
  • Microservices shops needing unified traces

Not for

  • Non-engineering teams — this is pure developer tooling
  • Zero-ops buyers wanting turnkey SaaS with vendor SLAs
  • Teams needing long cloud retention on the base plan (4 weeks only)
  • Buyers requiring a funded vendor with a deep support bench

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Prices increase April 10, 2026 — verify new rates before committing

medium

On-premises carries a $1,000 minimum fee despite 'self-host free' messaging

medium

Cloud base retention is just 4 weeks; keeping data longer costs extra

medium

Bootstrapped, unfunded vendor — expect a lean team and limited support depth

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Unified traces, metrics, and logs in one OpenTelemetry-native backend
  • Free open-source self-hosting of the full APM stack
  • Transparent, predictable usage-based pricing per independent comparison
  • Scales to billions of spans on ClickHouse
  • Enterprise edition handles huge traces at scale

Cons

  • Cloud base plan keeps data only 4 weeks
  • On-premises deployments carry a $1,000 minimum fee
  • Source-available license, not fully open source
  • Bootstrapped company with no outside funding
  • Prices increasing April 2026

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 11 sources - No breaches found; two 2024 SQL-injection CVEs in Uptrace's pgdriver Go library — keep the driver updated.

official x5review x3security x2news x1
  • CVE-2024-44905: Uptrace pg SQL injection, SQL injection vulnerability disclosed in Uptrace's PostgreSQL driver code.
  • CVE-2024-44906: pgdriver v1.2.1 SQL injection, Medium-severity SQL injection in v1.2.1.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 11

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Transparent usage pricing; free self-host option
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Intuitive query builder; OpenTelemetry-native setup
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Unified traces, metrics, logs; billions of spans
  • Support quality. No support evidence found
  • Security posture: 2/5. Two SQL-injection CVEs in pgdriver, 2024
  • Free Self-hosting Open-source APM, you run it
  • $1,000 On-premises minimum Minimum Uptrace fee
  • 4 weeks Cloud retention Base Uptrace Cloud plan
  • Bootstrapped Funding No outside funding raised

Pricing

Self-hosted

Free

  • Full APM: traces, metrics, logs
  • You operate ClickHouse and infra

Uptrace Cloud

Usage-based

  • 4-week data retention base
  • Dropped data $0.01/GB

On-Premises

From $1,000 minimum fee

  • Commercial, self-managed
  • Enterprise edition available

Security

No breaches found; two 2024 SQL-injection CVEs in Uptrace's pgdriver Go library — keep the driver updated.

  • CVE-2024-44905: Uptrace pg SQL injectionSQL injection vulnerability disclosed in Uptrace's PostgreSQL driver code.10
  • CVE-2024-44906: pgdriver v1.2.1 SQL injectionMedium-severity SQL injection in v1.2.1.⁹

What users say

Reddit users report hosted Uptrace covers their needs, and third-party comparisons consistently credit its unified traces, metrics, and logs.

“We have been using hosted uptrace for”
Reddit, r/OpenTelemetry
“uptrace gives me everything in”
Reddit, r/django
Full analysis

Based on ~40 public sources; many are SEO comparison posts, so independent review depth is limited.

Genuinely cheap OTel-native APM if you self-host; bootstrapped vendor, 4-week cloud retention, price hike coming.

Methodology

Based on ~40 public sources; many are SEO comparison posts, so independent review depth is limited.

Sources

  1. official
  2. Uptrace Pricinguptrace.dev
    official
  3. official
  4. official
  5. official
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. security
  10. security
  11. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.