shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Verizon?

Wireless, internet, TV and phone services - verizon.com

Depends. Verizon fits coverage-first households and businesses that will pay a premium for network breadth and bundle mobile with home internet. Budget shoppers and anyone sensitive to billing surprises or slow support should pick Visible, Mint, or T-Mobile instead.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 60+ public sources; many snippets were truncated, so some ratings are approximate.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo direct evidence reviewed
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$35/mo

Prepaid 15 GB

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
myPlan Unlimitedvaries by lines and perks
myHome Internetvaries by location

Best for

  • Coverage-first buyers who value network reliability over price
  • Households bundling mobile and home internet
  • Fleet-heavy businesses (Verizon Connect, 984 G2 reviews)
  • Business accounts needing enterprise-grade options

Not for

  • Budget shoppers — Visible runs on Verizon's own network from $19/mo
  • Anyone averse to post-promo bill hikes and add-on fees
  • People who need painless, consistent customer service
  • Light-data users paying for unlimited they won't use

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

FairShake lists raised monthly bills as a top Fios complaint — expect promo pricing to expire

medium

PhoneArena documented reps keeping a customer on the most expensive plan

medium

A January 2026 outage hit 175,000+ customers; compensation was $20 credits

medium

Reddit reports an insider data breach affecting roughly half of Verizon's workforce

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Largest US wireless carrier by subscribers
  • Broad portfolio: mobile, home internet, prepaid, business, fleet
  • Mature security program: public CVE advisories and annual DBIR research
  • Verizon Connect fleet tools earn strong G2 reviews
  • $35/mo 15GB prepaid option for no-contract buyers

Cons

  • Monthly bills frequently raised after promotional periods
  • Customer service widely criticized on Reddit and ConsumerAffairs
  • Reps reportedly steer customers onto pricier plans
  • Misleading promotions and billing disputes reported
  • Premium pricing versus T-Mobile and Mint alternatives

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/05/2026 - 12 sources - Mature security organization (DBIR report, CVE advisory program, vulnerability disclosure page) — but a 2026 IMS info-disclosure CVE and a reported insider breach exist.

official x3review x5security x2news x2
  • CVE-2026-10629 — IMS information disclosure, Publicly tracked information-disclosure flaw in Verizon IMS, published June 2026.
  • Reported insider data breach, Reddit cybersecurity discussion of an insider breach reportedly affecting about half of Verizon's workforce.
  • 2016 customer data leak, Verizon confirmed a security breach led to a customer data leak.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $35/mo

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Premium pricing with frequent post-promo increase complaints
  • Ease of use. No direct evidence reviewed
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Mobile, home internet, prepaid, business, and fleet offerings
  • Support quality: 2/5. Widespread Reddit and ConsumerAffairs service complaints
  • Security posture: 3/5. Mature program; one 2026 IMS CVE disclosed
  • 4+/5 G2 seller rating 338 reviews on Verizon's G2 seller profile
  • $35/mo Cheapest listed plan 15 GB prepaid, no annual contract
  • 255 Yelp reviews (one NYC location) mixed customer feedback
  • #1 US market position largest US wireless carrier by subscribers

Pricing

Prepaid 15 GB

$35/mo

  • No annual contract
  • Fixed high-speed data allowance

myPlan Unlimited

varies by lines and perks

  • Unlimited data
  • Optional add-on perks
  • Postpaid

myHome Internet

varies by location

  • 5G/LTE home internet
  • Bundle discounts with mobile

Security

Mature security organization (DBIR report, CVE advisory program, vulnerability disclosure page) — but a 2026 IMS info-disclosure CVE and a reported insider breach exist.

  • CVE-2026-10629 — IMS information disclosurePublicly tracked information-disclosure flaw in Verizon IMS, published June 2026.11
  • Reported insider data breachReddit cybersecurity discussion of an insider breach reportedly affecting about half of Verizon's workforce.
  • 2016 customer data leakVerizon confirmed a security breach led to a customer data leak.

Alternatives

Compare Verizon with each alternative.

  • Visible

    Verizon-owned unlimited 5G from $19/mo on the same network

    Verizon vs Visible
  • Mint Mobile

    T-Mobile-owned prepaid; Redditors' usual cheaper-carrier pick

  • T-Mobile

    Top national competitor in price-versus-coverage comparisons

Full analysis

Based on 60+ public sources; many snippets were truncated, so some ratings are approximate.

Premium carrier with the biggest US network — pay up for coverage, or pay less for MVNOs riding the same towers.

Methodology

Based on 60+ public sources; many snippets were truncated, so some ratings are approximate.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. official
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. review
  8. review
  9. news
  10. news
  11. security
  12. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.