shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Vivotek Review

Depends

Should I use Vivotek?

IP surveillance cameras, VAST NVR software, and VORTEX cloud video service - vivotek.com

· 1 week ago

Buy for commercial or multi-site installs through an installer, especially where NDAA/TAA compliance matters. Skip if you want consumer plug-and-play or cannot commit to urgent firmware patching.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 40+ public sources; security advisories are rich, independent user reviews are sparse.

Ratings

  • Value for moneyNo published pricing in evidence
  • Ease of useForum threads hint at setup fiddliness, no solid evidence
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Not disclosed

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Multi-site commercial surveillance
  • Installers specifying NDAA/TAA-compliant cameras
  • Teams standardized on VAST NVRs
  • Buyers wanting a cloud VaaS option (VORTEX)

Not for

  • Home users wanting a plug-and-play camera kit
  • Small shops needing one camera with no installer
  • Buyers who need transparent list pricing
  • Anyone who will not patch firmware immediately

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Legacy-firmware cameras carry critical unauthenticated command-injection flaws; isolate or update before deploying.

high

Vivotek itself was hit by Everest ransomware in Sept 2026; assess what data was exposed.

medium

Quote-based pricing through distributors only; VORTEX cloud adds its own subscription terms.

medium

Reddit home buyers struggle matching Vivotek cameras, NVRs, and cloud plans; expect integration homework.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Wide camera lineup: bullet, dome, fisheye, LPR, up to 6MP+
  • Documented NDAA and TAA compliance for US procurement
  • VORTEX cloud video service runs on AWS
  • Broad US distribution: ADI, B&H, Newegg, VoIP Supply
  • Merged with March Networks in 2026, expanding portfolio and scale

Cons

  • 43 CVEs logged against Vivotek firmware
  • Critical unauthenticated command injection in legacy camera firmware
  • Everest ransomware attack hit VIVOTEK in September 2026
  • Almost no independent reviews: a single G2 seller review
  • No published pricing; everything quote-based via sales or resellers

Sources & method

- 12 sources - Elevated risk: CISA advisory, critical firmware RCEs, and a 2026 Everest ransomware breach at the vendor itself.

official x4review x4security x3news x1
  • CISA ICS advisory ICSA-26-272-03 on Vivotek camera firmware, CISA released an ICS advisory covering Vivotek camera firmware in September 2026.
  • CVE-2026-22755: critical command injection in camera firmware, Rated critical; command injection leading to remote code execution, tracked January 2026.
  • CVE-2025-66051: path traversal in IP7137, Path traversal vulnerability in the IP7137 model, disclosed September 2026.
  • Everest ransomware targets VIVOTEK, Everest claimed a ransomware attack and data breach against VIVOTEK in September 2026.

Key stats

  • Feature depth: 4/5

    Rating

  • Not disclosed

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money. No published pricing in evidence
  • Ease of use. Forum threads hint at setup fiddliness, no solid evidence
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Bullet, dome, fisheye, LPR, VAST NVR, VORTEX cloud
  • Support quality: 3/5. Official portal, Zendesk, distributor channels; depth unproven
  • Security posture: 2/5. 43 CVEs, critical unauthenticated RCE, 2026 ransomware breach
  • 5/5 G2 seller rating 1 review — far too thin
  • 43 Known CVEs vendor-wide, per OpenCVE
  • 2026 Merged with March Networks video security merger, Mar 2026
  • 107 Customer references FeaturedCustomers reviews and case studies

Pricing

Not disclosed

Security

Elevated risk: CISA advisory, critical firmware RCEs, and a 2026 Everest ransomware breach at the vendor itself.

  • CISA ICS advisory ICSA-26-272-03 on Vivotek camera firmwareCISA released an ICS advisory covering Vivotek camera firmware in September 2026.⁵
  • CVE-2026-22755: critical command injection in camera firmwareRated critical; command injection leading to remote code execution, tracked January 2026.
  • CVE-2025-66051: path traversal in IP7137Path traversal vulnerability in the IP7137 model, disclosed September 2026.
  • Everest ransomware targets VIVOTEKEverest claimed a ransomware attack and data breach against VIVOTEK in September 2026.⁷

What users say

Independent user evidence is thin: one 5/5 G2 seller review, plus forum debates versus Hikvision on human-detection reliability and Reddit questions about cloud service and NVR compatibility.

Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources; security advisories are rich, independent user reviews are sparse.

Pro-grade IP cameras, wide distributor channel, NDAA docs — but 43 CVEs, critical RCE, 2026 ransomware breach. Not DIY.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources; security advisories are rich, independent user reviews are sparse.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. security
  6. security
  7. security
  8. official
  9. official
  10. news
  11. ADI: shop Vivotek brandadiglobaldistribution.us
    official
  12. official

Add this review to your site

This check for Vivotek says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.