shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use XY Planning Network (XYPN)?

Advisor support platform for independent, fee-only financial advisors (page tagline was a cookie notice) - xyplanningnetwork.com

Depends. Buy if you are a fee-only advisor launching or running an independent RIA and want compliance, tech, and community bundled. Everyone else — especially non-advisors and large firms — should skip it.

Confidence

Low. Based on 4 usable public sources (XYPN pricing and security pages); Reddit credit-card results were irrelevant noise. No independent reviews found — confidence is low.

Ratings

  • Value for moneyNo independent pricing comparisons in evidence
  • Ease of useNo usability evidence in sources reviewed
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Emerald

Subscription fee (amount not listed)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
SapphireMonthly fee plus revenue percentage
Add-onsVaries; First-Year Foundations $6,150

Best for

  • Fee-only advisors starting an independent RIA
  • Solo advisors wanting compliance and tech bundled
  • Breakaway brokers transitioning large client books
  • Advisors wanting peer community and education

Not for

  • Non-advisors — consumers should use the find-an-advisor directory instead
  • Large firms with in-house compliance, tech, and operations teams
  • Advisors allergic to revenue-share or bundled subscription fees
  • Buyers wanting one standalone tool, not a full membership bundle

Gotchas - check before you buy

medium

Sapphire's revenue share scales with your firm — effective cost rises as revenue grows

medium

Compliance, bookkeeping, and Form ADV filing are a-la-carte; First-Year Foundations alone runs $6,150

low

Emerald membership price not publicly listed in sources reviewed — expect a sales conversation

low

Pricing page notes CFP designation requirements may apply to members

Pros and cons

Pros

  • All-in-one: compliance, technology, planning tools, community, and education for independent RIAs
  • Sapphire includes eMoney financial planning tools
  • Sapphire advertises no setup costs or additional fees
  • Emerald is one affordable subscription-based fee
  • Case study: solo advisor scaled to $120M AUM using the platform

Cons

  • Sapphire charges a monthly fee plus revenue percentage
  • Add-ons billed separately; First-Year Foundations costs $6,150
  • Serves fee-only fiduciary advisors; other business models don't fit
  • Only vendor case studies surfaced; no independent reviews found

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 4 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x4

Key stats

  • Feature depth: 4/5

    Rating

  • Subscription fee (amount not listed)

    Starting price

  • 4

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money. No independent pricing comparisons in evidence
  • Ease of use. No usability evidence in sources reviewed
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Compliance, tech, planning software, bookkeeping, community bundled
  • Support quality: 4/5. Case studies cite compliance and operational support
  • Security posture: 3/5. Security page exists; no disclosed incidents found
  • 2 Membership tiers Emerald and Sapphire, plus a-la-carte add-ons
  • $6,150 Known add-on price Standard First-Year Foundations
  • $120M Case-study member AUM Cathy Curtis solo RIA
  • 50+ Clients transitioned Brian Muller, Sapphire member case study

Pricing

Emerald

Subscription fee (amount not listed)

  • Run your own RIA with support when needed
  • One affordable subscription-based fee

Sapphire

Monthly fee plus revenue percentage

  • Turnkey corporate RIA affiliate model
  • eMoney planning tools included
  • No setup costs or additional fees

Add-ons

Varies; First-Year Foundations $6,150

  • Compliance support and Form ADV filing
  • Bookkeeping with delivered financial statements

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

No independent user reviews of XYPN surfaced in the sources reviewed; evidence is vendor pricing pages and case studies.

Alternatives

Compare XY Planning Network (XYPN) with each alternative.

Companies that use it

  • Cathy Curtis — solo RIA case study ($120M AUM)⁴
  • Brian Muller — Sapphire member case study⁴
Full analysis

Based on 4 usable public sources (XYPN pricing and security pages); Reddit credit-card results were irrelevant noise. No independent reviews found — confidence is low.

Membership platform for independent fee-only advisors. Right call if launching an RIA; irrelevant if you're not.

Methodology

Based on 4 usable public sources (XYPN pricing and security pages); Reddit credit-card results were irrelevant noise. No independent reviews found — confidence is low.

Sources

  1. official
  2. Sapphire Pricingxyplanningnetwork.com
    official
  3. Add-Ons Pricingxyplanningnetwork.com
    official
  4. Product security pagexyplanningnetwork.com
    official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.