shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Yubico?

YubiKey — strong two-factor authentication - yubico.com

Worth it. Buy if you're protecting high-value or regulated accounts — it's the category standard at a low one-time price. Skip if you just need everyday MFA; free authenticator apps or passkeys cover most casual users.

Confidence

High. Based on 20+ public sources. Dollar prices marked 'Guess' — evidence snippets discussed price but showed no exact figures.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Guess: ~$25

Security Key Series

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
YubiKey 5 SeriesGuess: ~$50–$60
EnterpriseContact sales

Best for

  • Admins, execs, high-value accounts
  • Government and regulated teams
  • Journalists and activists
  • Phishing-prone organizations

Not for

  • People who lose hardware — you need backup keys
  • Casual users; free authenticator apps suffice
  • Accounts on services that lack FIDO2 support
  • Anyone budgeting one key per person — buy two+

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Older YubiKey 5 models can't be patched for CVE-2024-45678 — hardware replacement, not a firmware update

medium

Firmware is closed-source; security-minded buyers on Reddit object

medium

Losing your only key means painful account recovery — buy at least two

low

Enterprise buying includes subscription purchasing models — check terms before bulk orders

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Wirecutter's pick for best MFA security key
  • PCMag names Yubico keys among best tested
  • 4.7/5 across 127 published case studies
  • Deployed by government, universities, transit agencies, financial firms
  • YubiKey study reports strong ROI and lower breach risk

Cons

  • Older YubiKey models hit by unpatchable CVE-2024-45678; replacement required
  • Confirmed 2FA bypass advisory in January 2025
  • One key isn't enough; some users buy four for backup
  • Sysadmin critics call keys security theater versus app-based MFA
  • Yubico software itself had a DLL search-path vulnerability (CVE-2026-40947)

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/26/2026 - 10 sources - No breach; strong FIDO2 track record, but several CVEs and advisories — some affected keys are unpatchable.

official x1review x6security x2news x1
  • CVE-2024-45678, YubiKey flaw disclosed Sep 2024; Reddit users report affected older keys are unpatchable and need replacing.
  • 2FA bypass advisory (Jan 2025), Yubico issued a security advisory after a 2FA bypass vulnerability was confirmed.
  • CVE-2026-40947, DLL search-path vulnerability in Yubico software, published Apr 2026; Yubico advisory YSA-2026-01 followed.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • Guess: ~$25

    Starting price

  • 10

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Wirecutter's best pick, one-time low cost
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Tiny, durable, simple per reviewers
  • Feature depth: 5/5. Multi-protocol: FIDO2, OTP, OATH, PIV
  • Support quality: 3/5. App Store praise; other sites report complaints
  • Security posture: 4/5. FIDO2 gold standard despite past CVEs
  • 4.7/5 Case-study rating 127 case studies (FeaturedCustomers)
  • 114 Gartner reviews In-depth YubiKey reviews
  • 4+/5 G2 rating 35 seller reviews
  • Guess: ~$25 Entry price Security Key line; verify in store

Pricing

Security Key Series

Guess: ~$25

  • FIDO2/U2F protocols only
  • NFC option available

YubiKey 5 Series

Guess: ~$50–$60

  • Multi-protocol: FIDO2, OTP, OATH
  • USB-C/NFC variants

Enterprise

Not disclosed

  • Bulk ordering via Yubico console
  • Subscription purchase models available

Security

No breach; strong FIDO2 track record, but several CVEs and advisories — some affected keys are unpatchable.

  • CVE-2024-45678YubiKey flaw disclosed Sep 2024; Reddit users report affected older keys are unpatchable and need replacing.⁷
  • 2FA bypass advisory (Jan 2025)Yubico issued a security advisory after a 2FA bypass vulnerability was confirmed.⁸
  • CVE-2026-40947DLL search-path vulnerability in Yubico software, published Apr 2026; Yubico advisory YSA-2026-01 followed.

What users say

Reviewers and enterprises rate the hardware highly, while Reddit skeptics gripe about backup-key costs, lockouts, and closed-source firmware.

“YubiKeys feel like security theater”
Reddit, r/sysadmin
“Why are so many people against using Yubico”
Reddit, r/yubikey

Companies that use it

  • Michigan Office of Child Support
  • Swansea University
  • Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty
  • TriMet
  • Diocese of St. Pölten
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources. Dollar prices marked 'Guess' — evidence snippets discussed price but showed no exact figures.

The default hardware security key: best-in-class, cheap, but buy two — skip if app MFA is enough.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources. Dollar prices marked 'Guess' — evidence snippets discussed price but showed no exact figures.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. review
  7. security
  8. security
  9. news
  10. Yubico Storeyubico.com
    official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.