shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Activepieces?

Chat, agents, flows, tables, and 760+ apps in one workspace, so your whole team works with AI in the tools they already use. Open source at the core. - activepieces.com

Depends. Buy it if you're a technical team, self-hoster, or cost-sensitive startup wanting an open-source Zapier/Make alternative with AI agents. Skip it if you want the most battle-tested automation engine or can't tolerate an active CVE history.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 50+ public sources; source snippets were truncated, so no verbatim user quotes could be confirmed.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo evidence in sources reviewed
  • Security posture

Pricing

$0

Free

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
Paid (per flow)~$5/flow/month
Self-hosted (open source)Free (infra costs only)

Best for

  • Self-hosters wanting an open-source Zapier alternative
  • Cost-sensitive startups (free tier, ~$5/flow)
  • Teams adding AI agents and MCPs to existing tools
  • Automation across many SaaS apps

Not for

  • Teams unwilling to patch fast — active 2026 CVE history
  • Hardcore self-hosters — one detailed Reddit comparison's TLDR still favored n8n
  • Lifetime-deal buyers expecting plans to stay frozen
  • Enterprises needing a long vendor track record — small review base

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

AppSumo lifetime-deal buyers reported plan features changed after a pricing shift

high

Self-hosting puts patching on you; command-injection CVEs make timely updates critical

medium

Per-flow pricing (~$5/flow/mo) scales badly if you build many small flows

medium

Free-tier flow and run limits aren't spelled out in sources reviewed — verify before committing

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Open-source core; free self-hosting on your own infrastructure
  • 760+ app integrations plus AI agents and MCP servers
  • Free plan; paid flows priced around $5/month
  • 4.8/5 rating across roughly 142 G2 reviews
  • Positioned and reviewed as a cheaper Zapier replacement

Cons

  • One in-depth self-hosting review's TLDR favored n8n instead
  • Pricing and plan changes disrupted AppSumo lifetime deal buyers
  • High-severity OS command injection CVE (CVSS 8.7) disclosed in 2026
  • Vendor published a postmortem on a data-leak incident
  • Small review base (~142 G2 reviews) limits signal

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/20/2026 - 13 sources - Multiple 2026 CVEs disclosed, including OS command injection (CVSS 8.7) in code-execution pipelines; vendor publishes security guidance and RBAC docs.

official x4review x5security x2news x2
  • CVE-2026-73081: OS Command Injection (CVSS 8.7, high), High-severity command injection in Activepieces code execution pipelines.
  • CVE-2026-73083: High-severity vulnerability (CVSS 7.6), Listed among three Activepieces vulnerabilities in code execution pipelines.
  • CVE-2026-73084: XSS (CVSS 6.1, medium), Cross-site scripting vulnerability disclosed in 2026.
  • CVE-2026-73082: Information Disclosure (CVSS 5.3, medium), Information disclosure vulnerability disclosed in 2026.
  • CVE-2026-12813, Vulnerability identified in Activepieces; details limited in sources reviewed.
  • Vendor postmortem on data leaks, Activepieces published a postmortem on data leaks and secure automation.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $0

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Free tier, ~$5/flow, free self-hosting
  • Ease of use: 4/5. Guess: no-code builder aimed at non-engineers
  • Feature depth: 4/5. 760+ apps, agents, flows, tables, MCPs
  • Support quality. No evidence in sources reviewed
  • Security posture: 2/5. Multiple 2026 CVEs, incl. CVSS 8.7 injection
  • 4.8/5 G2 rating ~142 reviews
  • $5/flow/month Starting price after free tier
  • Yes Free tier plus free self-hosted option
  • 760+ apps Integrations plus ~400 MCP servers for AI agents

Pricing

Free

$0

  • Build and run flows free
  • Free plan highlighted in 2026 pricing breakdowns

Paid (per flow)

~$5/flow/month

  • Pay per active flow
  • Cloud-hosted

Self-hosted (open source)

Free (infra costs only)

  • Run on your own infrastructure
  • Managed hosting also available via Elestio

Security

Multiple 2026 CVEs disclosed, including OS command injection (CVSS 8.7) in code-execution pipelines; vendor publishes security guidance and RBAC docs.

  • CVE-2026-73081: OS Command Injection (CVSS 8.7, high)High-severity command injection in Activepieces code execution pipelines.10
  • CVE-2026-73083: High-severity vulnerability (CVSS 7.6)Listed among three Activepieces vulnerabilities in code execution pipelines.
  • CVE-2026-73084: XSS (CVSS 6.1, medium)Cross-site scripting vulnerability disclosed in 2026.
  • CVE-2026-73082: Information Disclosure (CVSS 5.3, medium)Information disclosure vulnerability disclosed in 2026.
  • CVE-2026-12813Vulnerability identified in Activepieces; details limited in sources reviewed.
  • Vendor postmortem on data leaksActivepieces published a postmortem on data leaks and secure automation.12

What users say

G2 reviewers rate it around 4.8/5 and praise it as a low-cost Zapier alternative, while Reddit threads actively debate it against n8n and Make, with some comparisons favoring those rivals.

Alternatives

Compare Activepieces with each alternative.

  • n8n

    More powerful self-hosted automation; power users' pick

  • Make.com

    Visual no-code automation, strong for quick scenarios

  • Zapier

    Easiest hosted option; pricier at scale

    Activepieces vs Zapier

Companies that use it

  • Funding Societies13
Full analysis

Based on 50+ public sources; source snippets were truncated, so no verbatim user quotes could be confirmed.

Open-source Zapier alternative: free self-host, 760+ apps, 4.8/5 on G2 — but recent CVEs and n8n rivalry make it 'depends'.

Methodology

Based on 50+ public sources; source snippets were truncated, so no verbatim user quotes could be confirmed.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. news
  7. news
  8. official
  9. official
  10. security
  11. security
  12. official
  13. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.