shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use ADT?

Not disclosed - adt.com

Depends. Buy only if you want the legacy brand's nationwide 24/7 professional monitoring and can live with multi-year contracts. Skip it if you're budget-conscious or privacy-sensitive — an April 2026 breach exposed 5.5M customers' data.

Confidence

High. Based on 40+ public sources: hands-on reviews, Reddit/Trustpilot user feedback, breach disclosures, and pricing comparisons.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo direct usability evidence
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

$40–$60/mo

Professional monitoring

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo

Best for

  • Homeowners wanting 24/7 pro monitoring
  • People who prefer pro installation
  • Buyers prioritizing a long-established national brand

Not for

  • Budget shoppers
  • DIYers who hate contracts
  • Privacy-sensitive buyers post-breach
  • Frequent movers (relocation/refund disputes)

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Multi-year contracts; early cancellation fees reported even after divorce

medium

Authorized-dealer sales tactics draw complaints and potential class-action talk

medium

Moving triggers relocation fees and refund disputes

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Nationwide professional monitoring with pro installation
  • Won two 2026 Buyer's Choice Awards from ConsumerAffairs
  • Adding DIY options alongside traditional monitoring

Cons

  • Monitoring averages $40–60/month; pricier than alternatives
  • April 2026 breach exposed 5.5M customers' data
  • Multi-year contracts with cancellation fees
  • Frequent customer-service complaints
  • Vivint beats it in head-to-head comparisons

Sources & method

Analyzed 10/04/2026 - 12 sources - Breached April 2026 — ShinyHunters leak, 5.5M customers' data exposed; possible major consumer privacy lawsuit; earlier insider camera-abuse incident.

review x7security x4news x1
  • April 2026 data breach (ShinyHunters), Names, phone numbers, and addresses of 5.5M customers exposed; ADT confirmed the incident April 24, 2026.
  • Potential class-action lawsuit, Breach could become one of the largest consumer privacy cases of 2026.
  • Prior insider abuse, Former ADT technician spied on customers' cameras for 7 years.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 2/5

    Rating

  • $40–$60/mo

    Starting price

  • 12

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 2/5. Costs more than cheaper DIY rivals
  • Ease of use. No direct usability evidence
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Pro monitoring, cameras, smart home, DIY now
  • Support quality: 2/5. Recurring service complaints across Reddit, Trustpilot
  • Security posture: 1/5. April 2026 breach; prior insider camera abuse
  • 5,136+ reviews Trustpilot review base adt.com Trustpilot page
  • $40–$60/mo Monitoring cost average, per third-party comparison
  • No Free tier contract-based monitoring service
  • 5.5M customers 2026 breach scope names, phones, addresses exposed

Pricing

Professional monitoring

$40–$60/mo

  • 24/7 monitored service
  • Equipment and install costs extra
  • Multi-year contract typical

Security

Breached April 2026 — ShinyHunters leak, 5.5M customers' data exposed; possible major consumer privacy lawsuit; earlier insider camera-abuse incident.

  • April 2026 data breach (ShinyHunters)Names, phone numbers, and addresses of 5.5M customers exposed; ADT confirmed the incident April 24, 2026.⁷
  • Potential class-action lawsuitBreach could become one of the largest consumer privacy cases of 2026.
  • Prior insider abuseFormer ADT technician spied on customers' cameras for 7 years.10

What users say

User sentiment is split: some customers value the monitoring reliability, while many complain about pricing, contracts, dealer sales, and customer service.

“Absolutely do NOT even t…”
Reddit, r/homesecurity
“ADT has its flaws but it…”
Reddit, r/adt
“But we like having the d…”
Reddit, r/homedefense

Alternatives

Compare ADT with each alternative.

Full analysis

Based on 40+ public sources: hands-on reviews, Reddit/Trustpilot user feedback, breach disclosures, and pricing comparisons.

Legacy pro-monitoring brand; $40–60/mo contracts and an April 2026 breach of 5.5M customers' data make cheaper DIY rivals smarter.

Methodology

Based on 40+ public sources: hands-on reviews, Reddit/Trustpilot user feedback, breach disclosures, and pricing comparisons.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. Vivint vs. ADT — US Newsrealestate.usnews.com
    review
  7. security
  8. security
  9. security
  10. security
  11. review
  12. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.