shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

AnythingLLM Review

Depends

Should I use AnythingLLM?

A free, private AI assistant that runs on your device. No accounts, no API keys, no token limits. - anythingllm.com

· 1 month ago

Buy it if you want a free, private, on-device document chatbot and can tinker with models and patch CVEs yourself. Skip it if you need a polished, supported, zero-maintenance RAG service.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~20 public sources; G2/Trustpilot ratings cited secondhand via Elest.io. No named corporate customers found in the evidence.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security posture

Pricing

Free

Desktop

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierYes
CloudNot stated in sources
Managed hosting (Elest.io)Plans vary

Best for

  • Privacy-minded individuals chatting with local documents
  • Tinkerers already running Ollama or LM Studio
  • Small teams testing self-hosted RAG cheaply
  • Anyone avoiding per-seat AI subscriptions

Not for

  • Hands-off teams wanting a polished managed SaaS
  • Non-technical users expecting ChatGPT-level polish
  • Security-sensitive orgs unwilling to track CVEs and patch constantly
  • Buyers needing vendor SLAs, support contracts, or compliance assurance

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Self-hosters must patch fast: 2026 RCE (CVE-2026-32626) and auth bypass (CVE-2026-32617)

medium

Collects anonymous telemetry by default despite the local-privacy pitch

medium

Documentation quality criticized; expect trial-and-error during setup

low

Desktop is free, but Cloud tier pricing is not clearly published in sources

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Free, open-source desktop app; no accounts, API keys, or token limits
  • Runs on-device by default; data stays local
  • Supports local models (Ollama, LM Studio) and cloud providers
  • Strong aggregate ratings: G2 4.8/5, Trustpilot 4.6/5
  • Document RAG called "solid" by independent reviewers

Cons

  • Multiple CVEs disclosed 2024-2026, including RCE and auth bypass
  • Some Redditors call setup frustrating and documentation weak
  • RAG output felt "useless" to some users
  • Electron app criticized for risky nodeIntegration configuration
  • Official security page appears absent from sources reviewed

Sources & method

- 14 sources - Strong privacy story, but a steady CVE stream (RCE, auth bypass, info disclosure) through 2026 — patch promptly if self-hosted.

official x4review x5security x4news x1
  • CVE-2026-32626 — Remote code execution, NVD lists RCE affecting versions 1.11.1 and earlier.
  • CVE-2026-32617 — Authentication bypass, SentinelOne vulnerability database entry describes an auth bypass.
  • CVE-2024-6842 — Information disclosure, Information-disclosure flaw reported and tracked by Pentest-Tools.
  • CVE-2026-48789 — Windows path traversal, Path traversal issue in the Windows build, tracked by.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 5/5

    Rating

  • Free

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 5/5. Free desktop, open source, no token limits
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Beginner guides exist, but Redditors call setup painful
  • Feature depth: 4/5. All-in-one RAG, agents, multi-provider, multi-user
  • Support quality: 2/5. Users criticize documentation; small YC team
  • Security posture: 2/5. Multiple CVEs incl. RCE and auth bypass
  • 4.8/5 G2 rating as listed on Elest.io
  • 4.6/5 Trustpilot as listed on Elest.io
  • Free Starting price Open-source desktop app
  • Y Combinator Backing Built by Mintplex Labs Inc

Pricing

Desktop

Free

  • Open source, free forever
  • Local models + on-device RAG
  • No accounts or API keys

Cloud

Not stated in sources

  • Hosted AnythingLLM
  • "Break free from rate-limits"
  • No published price found

Managed hosting (Elest.io)

Plans vary

  • Fully managed AnythingLLM
  • Priced by resources
  • Third-party service

Security

Strong privacy story, but a steady CVE stream (RCE, auth bypass, info disclosure) through 2026 — patch promptly if self-hosted.

  • CVE-2026-32626 — Remote code executionNVD lists RCE affecting versions 1.11.1 and earlier.⁸
  • CVE-2026-32617 — Authentication bypassSentinelOne vulnerability database entry describes an auth bypass.⁹
  • CVE-2024-6842 — Information disclosureInformation-disclosure flaw reported and tracked by Pentest-Tools.10
  • CVE-2026-48789 — Windows path traversalPath traversal issue in the Windows build, tracked by.11
Full analysis

Based on ~20 public sources; G2/Trustpilot ratings cited secondhand via Elest.io. No named corporate customers found in the evidence.

Free, private on-device AI doc-chat: great value if you tinker; recurring CVEs and rough docs hurt hands-off teams.

Methodology

Based on ~20 public sources; G2/Trustpilot ratings cited secondhand via Elest.io. No named corporate customers found in the evidence.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. official
  2. official
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. official
  7. review
  8. security
  9. security
  10. security
  11. security
  12. official
  13. news
  14. review

Add this review to your site

This check for AnythingLLM says Depends.

Put the badge on your site.

Visitors see the independent review.

The link points here, and search engines follow it.

This is the badge visitors see on your site.

Paste one snippet. Keep the link as it is. A nofollow tag stops search engines from following it.

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.