shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Apex Learning Review

Depends

Should I use Apex Learning?

edmentum - apexlearning.com

· 4 days ago

Buy if you are a district or family needing accredited, self-paced online courses for credit recovery, AP, or schedule flexibility. Skip if you want live teacher-led instruction or strong independent evidence of learning gains.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 20+ public sources. Note: several sources describe unrelated 'Apex Learning' brands (UK, Singapore), which were excluded from product claims.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo direct usability evidence found
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualityNo reliable support evidence found
  • Security posture

Pricing

Virtual School (individual/family)

Tuition-based, varies by course load

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed
Free tierNo
District/school licensesQuote-based contract

Best for

  • District credit-recovery programs
  • Accredited homeschool transcripts
  • Students adding AP courses their school lacks
  • Statewide virtual course partnerships

Not for

  • Families wanting live, teacher-led instruction
  • Buyers demanding independent proof of learning gains
  • UK or corporate course shoppers — that's an unrelated namesake brand
  • Teams wanting self-serve, transparent pricing

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Several unrelated 'Apex Learning' sites (UK, Singapore) exist — verify before paying.

medium

District pricing is quote-based contract licensing; expect a sales cycle, not checkout.

medium

Teachers report the platform displaces their role; plan human oversight or students may disengage.

low

College acceptance of its AP courses is a recurring student question — confirm with target colleges first.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Accredited virtual school with broad catalog: AP, honors, credit recovery
  • Adopted at district and state scale, incl. Connecticut statewide partnership
  • ESA tuition funds accepted
  • Published efficacy studies on graduation-rate gains for at-risk students
  • Districts renew licenses, e.g. New Braunfels ISD technology refresh

Cons

  • Some teachers feel it takes over their teaching role
  • Effectiveness debated by educators alongside Edgenuity
  • Online credit recovery drew a harsh Oakland grand-jury report
  • Students unsure colleges will accept its courses
  • Mixed parent and teacher reviews: liked and didn't lists

Sources & method

- 14 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x6security x2news x3

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • Tuition-based, varies by course load

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Districts renew licenses; families question tuition value
  • Ease of use. No direct usability evidence found
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Broad catalog: AP, honors, credit recovery, electives
  • Support quality. No reliable support evidence found
  • Security posture: 3/5. No public breaches; district privacy approvals on file
  • Edmentum Owner Site now branded edmentum
  • $8.8M Funding raised Per Crunchbase profile
  • Accepted ESA tuition funds Education Savings Accounts eligible
  • Connecticut, 2021 Statewide contract CSDE statewide online courses

Pricing

Virtual School (individual/family)

Tuition-based, varies by course load

  • Accredited grades 6-12 courses
  • AP and honors options
  • ESA funds accepted

District/school licenses

Quote-based contract

  • Per-student or site licensing
  • Credit recovery and summer programs
  • State contract vehicles available

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Districts and families use it widely for credit recovery and AP, but educator reviews are mixed, with some teachers feeling sidelined by the software.

“I'm conflicted about Apex Learning. I feel like it takes to much of my role as ...”
Reddit, r/Teachers
“Anybody taken AP Micro on APEX Learning?”
Reddit, r/APStudents
“The effectiveness of online programs (Edgenuity, Apex…)”
Reddit, r/matheducation

Companies that use it

  • New Braunfels ISD (TX)⁹
  • Connecticut State Department of Education⁸
  • State of Oklahoma (OMES)11
  • Public Schools of Robeson County (NC)
  • Big Rapids Public Schools (MI)

Companies that could

  • Estill County Schools (KY) Uses Odysseyware instead
Full analysis

Based on 20+ public sources. Note: several sources describe unrelated 'Apex Learning' brands (UK, Singapore), which were excluded from product claims.

Accredited self-paced online courses for grades 6-12: fine for credit recovery and AP, weaker where live teaching matters.

Methodology

Based on 20+ public sources. Note: several sources describe unrelated 'Apex Learning' brands (UK, Singapore), which were excluded from product claims.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. review
  4. review
  5. review
  6. Apex Learning VS Reviewsapex-learning-vs.tenereteam.com
    review
  7. news
  8. news
  9. news
  10. official
  11. official
  12. Product security pageapexlearning.com
    security
  13. Data Privacy and Security approvalscharlottevalley.esvbeta.com
    security
  14. official

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.