shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Bunker Hill Community College (bhcc.edu) Review

Skip

Should I use Bunker Hill Community College (bhcc.edu)?

Main Menu - bhcc.edu

· 2 days ago

This is not software — it is Bunker Hill Community College's public website, so there is nothing to purchase as a product. It is only relevant if you are a prospective student seeking an affordable two-year degree, and even then note the college's 2023 data breach affecting 170,000+ people.

Confidence

Medium. Based on 15+ public sources. This URL is a college website, not a software product; review snippets were truncated, so no verbatim quotes could be extracted.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo applicable evidence
  • Feature depthNo applicable evidence
  • Support qualityNo usable evidence
  • Security posture

Pricing

$9,168 total

Tuition (international students)

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Boston-area students seeking affordable two-year degrees
  • Transfer students targeting UMass Boston
  • Career changers in online cybersecurity or healthcare training

Not for

  • Anyone shopping for software — this is a college website, not a product
  • Organizations evaluating SaaS vendors or tools
  • Students wanting to complete a four-year degree on-site

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

May 2023 breach affected over 170,000 current and former students; notifications sent December 2023.

medium

lists BHCC under two separate breach numbers (15049 and 31240), implying more than one incident.

medium

Class-action investigation was launched after the breach announcement.

low

Out-of-state tuition runs higher than in-state rates; compare before enrolling.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Founded 1973; long-established multicampus community college
  • Transfer partnership with UMass Boston for admissions
  • Online career-training programs, including CompTIA Security+ certification
  • Total tuition listed at $9,168 for international students

Cons

  • May 2023 data breach; over 170,000 people notified
  • Class-action lawsuit investigation followed the breach
  • Appears in breach registry under two assigned numbers
  • Not a purchasable product; enrollment is the only 'buy'

Sources & method

- 9 sources - Suffered a May 2023 data breach; over 170,000 current and former students were notified in December 2023.

official x2review x2security x4news x1
  • May 2023 data breach (170,000+ affected), BHCC notified over 170,000 current and former students of a May 2023 data security incident; the state investigation confirmed the scope in January 2024, and a class-action investigation followed.

Key stats

  • Value for money: 4/5

    Rating

  • $9,168 total

    Starting price

  • 9

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 4/5. Total tuition listed at $9,168; community-college pricing
  • Ease of use. No applicable evidence
  • Feature depth. No applicable evidence
  • Support quality. No usable evidence
  • Security posture: 2/5. 170,000+ affected by 2023 breach
  • 1973 Founded Per BHCC's official Facebook page
  • Two-year Institution type Multicampus community college
  • $9,168 Total tuition (intl.) Per InternationalStudent listing
  • 170,000+ Breach notifications Current and former students, May 2023 incident

Pricing

Tuition (international students)

$9,168 total

  • Total tuition per school-search listing
  • In-state rates are cheaper; this is not a SaaS price

Security

Suffered a May 2023 data breach; over 170,000 current and former students were notified in December 2023.

  • May 2023 data breach (170,000+ affected)BHCC notified over 170,000 current and former students of a May 2023 data security incident; the state investigation confirmed the scope in January 2024, and a class-action investigation followed.³

What users say

Student reviews exist on Niche, Unigo, Yelp, and Reddit, but the available snippets are too truncated to quote or gauge overall sentiment.

Full analysis

Based on 15+ public sources. This URL is a college website, not a software product; review snippets were truncated, so no verbatim quotes could be extracted.

Not a product — it's Bunker Hill Community College. Nothing to buy; only enroll as a student.

Methodology

Based on 15+ public sources. This URL is a college website, not a software product; review snippets were truncated, so no verbatim quotes could be extracted.

Read how a report is made.

Sources

  1. review
  2. review
  3. security
  4. security
  5. security
  6. security
  7. official
  8. official
  9. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.