shouldiuse.io

Categories

VERDICT

Should I use Boat-Ed?

Official Boating License and Boater Safety Courses - boat-ed.com

Depends. Buy it if your state requires a boater safety card and you want the widely endorsed, state-specific official course. Skip it if your state approves free alternatives or you'd prefer ilearntoboat's faster interactive format.

Confidence

Medium. Based on ~15 public sources: state agency listings, Trustpilot, Reddit threads, competitor comparisons, and Boat-Ed's own pages. Many snippets were truncated; no numeric Trustpilot rating was available.

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of useNo direct user evidence on course usability
  • Feature depth
  • Support qualitySupport page exists; no rating data in sources
  • Security posture

Pricing

$64 in Texas; varies by state

Per-state boater safety course

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly feesNot disclosed
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • First-time boaters needing a required safety card
  • States with mandatory boater education
  • Boat renters needing certification

Not for

  • Boaters in states offering free approved courses
  • Speed-learners; ilearntoboat's game-style course fits better
  • Anyone already holding a valid boater card
  • Orgs buying group training; this is a per-person consumer purchase

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

You may not need to pay at all; Reddit users point to free certification paths

medium

Prices vary widely by state — confirm your state's total cost before starting

low

Competitor ilearntoboat claims faster, always-current interactive courses

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Official NASBLA-approved courses listed by multiple state wildlife agencies
  • State-specific curricula covering US states plus Canada
  • Publishes official handbooks for state agencies like Alabama ALEA
  • Transport Canada approved for Canadian boaters
  • Boat-Ed+ mobile app with perks like a free Wavve Boating year

Cons

  • Free approved alternatives exist in some states
  • Pricier than some options; Texas course runs $64
  • One of several state-approved providers, not the only choice
  • Traditional format; rival markets faster interactive courses

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/30/2026 - 14 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x9review x3security x1news x1

Key stats

  • Value for money: 3/5

    Rating

  • $64 in Texas; varies by state

    Starting price

  • 14

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 3/5. Official and legit, but free approved alternatives exist
  • Ease of use. No direct user evidence on course usability
  • Feature depth: 4/5. Study guides, videos, practice exams, mobile app
  • Support quality. Support page exists; no rating data in sources
  • Security posture: 3/5. Publishes a security page; no findings in sources
  • 2,802 Trustpilot reviewers people have reviewed boat-ed.com
  • $64 Texas course price prices vary by state
  • $417.4K Reported funding per Crunchbase profile
  • US states + Canada Coverage state-specific courses; Transport Canada approved

Pricing

Per-state boater safety course

$64 in Texas; varies by state

  • Online study guide and course
  • State-recognized certification
  • Boat-Ed+ app perks

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Reddit and Facebook discussions treat Boat-Ed as a known official option while questioning whether paid courses are necessary.

“YSK that you do not have to pay for a boating license”
Reddit, r/YouShouldKnow
“Has anyone used Boat-Ed to obtain your boating license?”
Facebook boating group
“1: is this a good place to get my boating card, and 2: will ...”
Reddit, r/boating

Companies that use it

  • Texas Parks & Wildlife Department⁶
  • Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife⁵
  • Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission12
  • Michigan DNR13
  • Alabama Law Enforcement Agency11

Companies that could

  • Ohio DNR⁷ Uses instead
Full analysis

Based on ~15 public sources: state agency listings, Trustpilot, Reddit threads, competitor comparisons, and Boat-Ed's own pages. Many snippets were truncated; no numeric Trustpilot rating was available.

Official, state-approved boater safety course. Fine buy if you need the card — but free options may exist.

Methodology

Based on ~15 public sources: state agency listings, Trustpilot, Reddit threads, competitor comparisons, and Boat-Ed's own pages. Many snippets were truncated; no numeric Trustpilot rating was available.

Sources

  1. official
  2. review
  3. official
  4. review
  5. official
  6. official
  7. official
  8. review
  9. official
  10. news
  11. official
  12. official
  13. official
  14. security

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.