shouldiuse.io

VERDICT

Should I use Brigit?

Cash advance and credit-building app - brigit.com

Skip. Only consider Brigit if you have no cheaper way to bridge a small payday gap and will set a cancellation reminder the day you sign up. Everyone else should skip it: two FTC refund actions, a class action, and a Minnesota AG lawsuit allege deceptive claims, junk fees, and hard-to-cancel subscriptions.

Confidence

High. Based on ~25 public sources including FTC refund actions, a class action, a state AG lawsuit, and user reviews

Ratings

  • Value for money
  • Ease of use
  • Feature depth
  • Support quality
  • Security postureNo public breach or vulnerability evidence

Pricing

$8.99-$15.99/mo

Plus

ModelNot disclosed
Monthly fees$8.99-$15.99
HardwareNot disclosed

Best for

  • Bridging payday gaps under $500
  • Credit building alongside small advances
  • Users who read cancellation terms first

Not for

  • Anyone sensitive to recurring subscription fees
  • Borrowers needing more than $500
  • Anyone who has ever struggled to cancel a subscription
  • Users wary of regulators — FTC and a state AG sued

Gotchas - check before you buy

high

Auto-renewal cancellation is the top complaint; FTC and a class action both flag it

high

One Reddit user reports losing $400 across advance apps including Brigit

medium

Monthly fee bills whether or not you take an advance

medium

Max advance is $500; larger needs require looking elsewhere

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Advances of $25-$500 delivered in minutes
  • Includes credit builder accounts
  • Some users report long-term repeat use
  • NerdWallet places it mid-range among cash advance apps

Cons

  • FTC sent $18M in refunds for deceptive advance claims
  • Second FTC action: $17M over junk fees and confusing cancellation
  • Class action alleges illegal automatic renewals
  • Minnesota AG filed suit against Brigit in 2026
  • Not BBB accredited, with complaints on file

Sources & method

Analyzed 9/24/2026 - 13 sources - No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

official x3review x5news x5

Key stats

  • Value for money: 1/5

    Rating

  • $8.99-$15.99/mo

    Starting price

  • 13

    Sources

  • Analyzed

  • Value for money: 1/5. Monthly fee billed regardless; FTC cited junk fees
  • Ease of use: 3/5. Advances delivered in minutes; simple app
  • Feature depth: 3/5. Advances, credit builder, bank monitoring
  • Support quality: 1/5. FTC cited confusing cancellation; BBB complaints
  • Security posture. No public breach or vulnerability evidence
  • $8.99-$15.99 Monthly cost Subscription, billed regardless of advances taken
  • $500 Max advance Delivered in minutes
  • $35M FTC consumer refunds $18M (2023) plus $17M (2024)
  • Up to $460M Acquisition Upbound Group definitive agreement

Pricing

Plus

$8.99-$15.99/mo

  • $25-$500 instant cash advances
  • Credit builder account
  • Bank account monitoring

Security

No known vulnerabilities found in the sources reviewed.

What users say

Some users praise fast, repeatable advances, but others report significant losses from subscription-based advance apps including Brigit.

“I lost a good $400 to money lending apps. Brigit, Empower and Cleo”
Reddit, r/confession
“BRIGIT has been super he”
App Store review
Full analysis

Based on ~25 public sources including FTC refund actions, a class action, a state AG lawsuit, and user reviews

$25-$500 advances for $8.99-$15.99/mo, but FTC refund actions and lawsuits make this hard to recommend.

Methodology

Based on ~25 public sources including FTC refund actions, a class action, a state AG lawsuit, and user reviews

Sources

  1. news
  2. news
  3. news
  4. news
  5. Brigit homepagehellobrigit.com
    official
  6. Brigit Instant Cashhellobrigit.com
    official
  7. How much does Brigit cost?help.hellobrigit.com
    official
  8. review
  9. review
  10. review
  11. review
  12. review
  13. news

Rate this review

Anonymous. You can change your vote.

Loading votes…

Comments

One queue. No nested comments. Give a display name first. Limit: 200 words per comment and 7 comments per day. You can edit or delete yours.

Save a name to write a comment.

0 / 200 words

No comments yet.